[Tool] Superluminal 2.2.1 - FTL Ship Editor

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
crimsonfluf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:54 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby crimsonfluf » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:28 pm

Hi guys, hope y'all are still active.

So I have what's probably a super basic problem, but since I'm extremely new to mods I have no idea where I'm going sideways. So hopefully someone can help me out.
I have two new ship mods saved as .ftl on my desktop, one replaces the PLAYER_SHIP_HARD and the second is set to replace the PLAYER_SHIP_HARD2.

Now I can mod these separately into the game without problem with slipstream, and they will replace the desired ship. But as soon as I try and mod both into the game, one ship will load fine, while the other will be completely messed up. Different hull image (taken from the other, properly loaded ship), different room layouts (not taken from the other ship, seemingly random).

I have no idea what's going on.

So I find this to be a problem too if I try and load them into superluminal2. I can open mod management and load one of the mods and then find it without fail in it's respective slot (either under PLAYER_SHIP_HARD or PLAYER_SHIP_HARD2). When I load them separately everything is hunky dory.
But if I try and mod management both mods together, then only one of them will load correctly while the other is completely bunked. But I do find them in their respective slots.

I thought maybe I need to load one of the mods into the game file's database, and then make a ship mod to load after... I tried that, but still no dice.
I also thought that maybe it has something to do with the the save filing system asking for what mod to couple with the save file? (include mods from...) But I don't really know what that does, so I never used it.



TL/DR
What do I need to do to get two ship mods into the game at the same time? I have two .ftl files in my mods folder, but can only load one at a time correctly. Any help would be immensely helpful. Thanks!
If this problem has been addressed before, I apologize. I read the first 25 pages of this thread without either understanding the answer, or simply not seeing it.
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby meklozz » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:46 pm

The same place you set the ship to be replaced, there should be a layout filename and an image namespace, try setting them to something unique for each ship.
crimsonfluf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:54 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby crimsonfluf » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:46 pm

Ah, Yeah I never messed with those.
I'll give it a shot and write an update. Maybe that's common sense, but I had no idea. Makes sense that's the problem since I never touched it.

Thanks! I hope it works, because that would be amazing.


Edit: Excellent! That did the trick! Now I can playtest! Thank you so much.
(That's the problem with dorks like me that don't deal with lines of code and save origins myself haha, can't visualize how everything stacks up haha)
Last edited by crimsonfluf on Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fox Holmes
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:02 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby Fox Holmes » Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:06 am

Hello! Sorry, I know this question has been asked before, but how do you make artillery beams fire from certain locations? The answer that I saw doesn't work, (have a weapon with the power-up direction set to "none") but it was answered a while ago. Has it changed, or is there a bug?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby kartoFlane » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:21 am

The atillery is hardcoded to use the fifth mount as its origin point (the power-up direction doesn't matter), no matter how many weapon slots your ship has.
For example, if your ship only allows 2 weapon slots, you'll need to place 5 weapon mounts anyway. In this scenario, mounts 3 and 4 will not be used for anything, so you can place them wherever.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
Fox Holmes
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:02 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby Fox Holmes » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:01 am

Oh, ok. Thank you!
FasterThanKestrel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:58 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby FasterThanKestrel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:00 am

I am on a mac, and I can't edit the .xml files at all. Is there any way to fix this, or will I have to live with it?

I'd like to design weapons, in case you were wondering.
FasterThanKestrel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:58 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby FasterThanKestrel » Thu Jan 26, 2017 5:10 am

I get this error on run of SuperLuminal 2:

Code: Select all

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
   at net.vhati.ftldat.FTLDat$FTLPack.readLittleUString(FTLDat.java:501)
   at net.vhati.ftldat.FTLDat$FTLPack.readIndex(FTLDat.java:576)
   at net.vhati.ftldat.FTLDat$FTLPack.<init>(FTLDat.java:446)
   at net.vhati.ftldat.FTLDat$FTLPack.<init>(FTLDat.java:421)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal.main(Superluminal.java:241)
Statsss101
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:36 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby Statsss101 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:49 pm

i got this error when i tried to edit the ships loadout and porperties


Code: Select all

17:48:05.577 [main] DEBUG com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Superluminal v2.1.2b
17:48:05.581 [main] DEBUG com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Windows 7 6.1
17:48:05.581 [main] DEBUG com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM, 1.8.0_101, amd64
17:48:05.584 [main] DEBUG com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - SWT v4528
17:48:05.626 [main] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Loading properties from config file...
17:48:05.685 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Using FTL dats path from config: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FTL Faster Than Light\resources
17:48:05.986 [main] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Loading dat archives...
17:48:06.083 [main] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Loading database...
17:48:06.087 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/animations
17:48:06.088 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/dlcAnimations
17:48:06.097 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/blueprints
17:48:06.098 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/autoBlueprints
17:48:06.098 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/dlcBlueprints
17:48:06.098 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore did not contain file data/dlcBlueprintsOverwrite
17:48:06.099 [Thread-3] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.DatabaseEntry - DatabaseCore was loaded successfully.
17:48:06.131 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Checking for updates...
17:48:06.850 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Program is up to date.
17:48:06.850 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Running...
17:48:16.261 [main] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.EditorWindow - Saving ship as C:\Users\Tyler\Desktop\Games\FTL +Cheats\Superluminal Win-64 v2.1.2b\crash_1486345696261.ftl
17:48:16.306 [main] TRACE com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.EditorWindow - Ship saved successfully.
17:48:16.306 [main] ERROR com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - An error has occured and the editor was forced to terminate. java.lang.NullPointerException
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.sidebar.PropertiesToolComposite.updateData(PropertiesToolComposite.java:891)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.sidebar.PropertiesToolComposite.<init>(PropertiesToolComposite.java:805)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.tools.PropertyTool.createToolComposite(PropertyTool.java:36)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.tools.PropertyTool.createToolComposite(PropertyTool.java:9)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.tools.Tool.getToolComposite(Tool.java:93)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.tools.PropertyTool.getToolComposite(PropertyTool.java:29)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.tools.PropertyTool.select(PropertyTool.java:19)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.core.Manager.selectTool(Manager.java:263)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.ui.EditorWindow$1.widgetSelected(EditorWindow.java:359)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.TypedListener.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.EventTable.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runDeferredEvents(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Unknown Source)
   at com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal.main(Superluminal.java:307)

17:48:18.936 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Exiting...
17:48:19.012 [main] INFO  com.kartoflane.superluminal2.Superluminal - Bye
WhiteWeasel
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:36 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.1.2b - FTL Ship Editor

Postby WhiteWeasel » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:27 am

How do I find the gib editor for my ship? The ship and rooms are in the way, so I can't really place them right with all the junk on the screen.
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests