Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
The_Bear
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:57 pm

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Postby The_Bear » Sat Aug 13, 2016 7:33 pm

We are going to fight 2 rogue ai bosses tomorrow at 10:00 UTC, and we need as many players as possible to join us.
Reaperisonline
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:51 pm

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Postby Reaperisonline » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:52 pm

not sure if bug, but reporting anyway

jumped from 111:154 to 106:157 at 21:45 UTC.
clicked 'install' module at the same time the jump occurred.
normally when u jump the install button will grey out, making it impossible to build.
instead the background became white as seen in pic, and javascript became unresponsive.

no damage done tho, logged in with another instance, ship was still in FTL
Image
jrb00001
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Postby jrb00001 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:28 pm

We killed those two RAI bosses today and it was way too easy (we had 5 BS and 1 CR). We are going to try 4 bosses next time.
Video can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4Bb0M4tKvU
Original file: https://static-692b8c32.de/tachyonunive ... 258-02.flv
jrb00001
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Postby jrb00001 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:58 pm

Found a bug: There were two players: "Bishop" and Bishop ". They were both in the "Players/Players.lst" had their own directory. One of them moved as we did a hyper jump. The other one didn't. The "Universe/X175Y198/players.dat" had two entries for "Bishop" (after the hyper jump).

Things that didn't work:
  • Relog
  • Restart the client
  • Restart the server
  • Do a local jump
  • Do a hyper jump
  • Set spawn point and die

The way to fix it:
  • Delete "Bishop " from "Players/Players.lst"
  • Delete "Players/Bishop "
  • Delete the second copy of "Bishop" from "Universe/X175Y198/players.dat"
kcd.Spektor
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:21 am

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Postby kcd.Spektor » Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:36 am

Reaperisonline wrote:not sure if bug, but reporting anyway


There was probably a nullpointer :D
Thanks for reporting it, I will have a look into it later.
Bishop
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:38 pm

Possible Glitches

Postby Bishop » Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:50 pm

Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.
jrb00001
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Possible Glitches

Postby jrb00001 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:48 pm

Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.
Bishop
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: Possible Glitches

Postby Bishop » Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:24 pm

jrb00001 wrote:
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.


I'm sure the 300 was on my character. (can see the scrap on your ship if your at the ship store?)
Sorry, I meant Hyperdrive. I bought a Light Scout (LS3) and had a Small HD upgraded to MK3.

Thanks for your help.
jrb00001
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Possible Glitches

Postby jrb00001 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:36 pm

Bishop wrote:
jrb00001 wrote:
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.


I'm sure the 300 was on my character. (can see the scrap on your ship if your at the ship store?)
Sorry, I meant Hyperdrive. I bought a Light Scout (LS3) and had a Small HD upgraded to MK3.

Thanks for your help.

You can see both while your are somewhere on the ship (left side is ship, middle is character).

An LS should be able to jump about two sectors with a single small HD MK1, I think.
kcd.Spektor
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:21 am

Re: Possible Glitches

Postby kcd.Spektor » Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:48 am

Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Thanks for the kind words, just what I needed to get a bit more inspiration to continue developing. :)

As for the bugs, what jrb says is mostly right.
Except that if you sell a ship that still has scrap in it's cargo - you will only get a portion of that scrap back.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests