Event Loops

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
DrJohnSmith
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:20 am

Event Loops

Postby DrJohnSmith » Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:25 am

I recently decided to have one of my events loop back to a previous event, allowing the player to review their options before deciding on an outcome. However... FTL doesn't seem to like this. I was wondering if anybody else has gotten this to work, or if there's some sort of event validation going on that'll force a crash unless events progress in a linear direction?

The structure is something like:

Code: Select all

- starting event
  |- option 1
  |- option 2
  |--- option 2.a
  |--- option 2.b (starting event)
User avatar
Gencool
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Event Loops

Postby Gencool » Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:38 am

If I remember correctly, you can make each page as a separate named event, then use 'eventLoad' to move between them. Haven't any examples of code handy though.
ImageImageImage
- Gencool (aka Puppetsquid) -- I make weird stuff
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1488
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Event Loops

Postby kartoFlane » Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:26 am

Event loops crash the game (at least before AE they did). It is possible to fake loops by creating separate events that look the same, but having an event called by one of its child events is not possible.

So basically, yes, events have to progress in a linear fashion.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am

Re: Event Loops

Postby 5thHorseman » Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:37 am

Yeah infinite loops are a no-no, because FTL tries to load every possibility into memory on sector (or event, one of the two) load, so eventually it runs out of memory.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
tazardar
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:05 pm

Re: Event Loops

Postby tazardar » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:37 pm

I found a way to make infinite dialogue loops on the first beacon somewhat possible, by using the teleport to the secret sector. Sadly, that means that there is no choice in the first jump and the real Crystal Homeworld quest doesn't work. I could write a tutorial if there is interest.