Tuning Out.

Have a great FTL experience you would like to share? Post here!
FSS-killemdead

Tuning Out.

Postby FSS-killemdead » Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:13 am

Incoming Transmission:Type emergency
Engaging data recovery
Proccessing...
Proccessing...
Proccesing complete Activating Playback.

This is Sheildman Mary of the FSS hallaja We are in a state of emergency right now.

Readings show hull at three Percent we're out of missles and Fuel.Rebels have arrived and
shields are gone. Engines are fucked AND are boarding crew, as well as two of Are shipboard including our captain is K.I.A.
So basicly I'm fucked...and...I DON'T WANT TO DIE(sobs) I cant take it and... and its not even my fault I was drafte-*choking**crying*
(Warning Sudden Cabin depressurization).

End Transmission.

BTW this is my first time writing a story. Still trying to get used to this system.This is FSS-Killemdead signing out.
stylesrj

Re: Tuning Out.

Postby stylesrj » Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:46 pm

In my opinion, I think the story needs a little more meat (I know it's your first time with writing FTL fanfiction but hey, a lot of people have a story to tell). The way its been written so far is like the opening post to a roleplay. I'm expecting someone to come in and answer the distress signal.

There are so many ways this can go because as of right now, it's another one of those "Oh great, another distress call story. Cheap tragedy, little payoff." It's like reading the Ugly Barnacle.

"Once there was a Federation ship named the FSS Hallaja. It was boarded by Rebels and everyone died. The end."

I dunno, give me someone's viewpoint. Are a bunch of officers in a war room reviewing a series of distress messages with the same pattern and talking about the horrors of war or is it a story of enduring hope where the crew fends off the Rebel assault at 1HP, jumps away from the system and begins a slow process of recovery?

Because I'm bored and in a creative mood, I hope you don't mind if I take a stab at it: