Need a middle difficulty

General discussion about the game.
tswaters
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:33 am

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby tswaters » Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:27 am

StarWarsOZ wrote:
AzuredreamsXT wrote:
tswaters wrote:It seems to me there is 'easy' and 'normal' -- the most obvious difference is the lack of pause in normal, but there is also less rewards and more difficulty on Normal. So, add a 'hard' mode that adds to normal difficulty -- could also make 'insane' mode that adds even more. Lastly, switch the pause mechanic to an option available to all three difficulties.


Is this guy mad, or are some people actually unable to pause in normal difficulty?


As far as I can tell, u can pause whenever u want, in any difficulty.
It works for me, so I don't see y it shouldn't work for anybody else. :?


Well I'll be damned.
I must've read that somewhere ....
actually, it turned me right off of trying normal at all.
I'll have to give it a shot.
StarWarsOZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Australia

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby StarWarsOZ » Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:42 am

tswaters wrote:
StarWarsOZ wrote:
tswaters wrote:It seems to me there is 'easy' and 'normal' -- the most obvious difference is the lack of pause in normal, but there is also less rewards and more difficulty on Normal. So, add a 'hard' mode that adds to normal difficulty -- could also make 'insane' mode that adds even more. Lastly, switch the pause mechanic to an option available to all three difficulties.


As far as I can tell, u can pause whenever u want, in any difficulty.
It works for me, so I don't see y it shouldn't work for anybody else. :?


Well I'll be damned.
I must've read that somewhere ....
actually, it turned me right off of trying normal at all.
I'll have to give it a shot.


Please, when u do, get back to me and tell me if it works.
If it doesn't, then your game is broken. :D
The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that it has never tried to contact us.
Bill Watterson
tswaters
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:33 am

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby tswaters » Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:54 am

StarWarsOZ wrote:Please, when u do, get back to me and tell me if it works.
If it doesn't, then your game is broken. :D

It works. Also, this gives me an idea -- hard mode = no pause.
boa13
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:42 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby boa13 » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:29 pm

That's right, there are a couple of topics floating around about playing without pausing. And it's definitely "hard mode". :)
Forum janitor — If you spot spam, PM me the URL and/or the username of the spammer.
I have powers, moderator powers. I am not keen on using them, but will do so if needed.
Starbug
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby Starbug » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:20 pm

Jephrey wrote: The problem is AI missile usage. There is only one effective defense against them, and 9 times out of 10 you'll be dead from missiles before you had any chance to buy that defence.

Ship evasion is also greatly overrated. It is completely possible to win fights with nobody in the cockpit or engine room. Except the missiles will still kill you.


Ah. That's your problem, right there.
Yes, if you've got strong shields and they only have laser/beam weapons, having dodge won't make a whole lot of difference.

However if you have no one at the helm, or it gets destroyed, your dodge drops to 0%, instantly, so EVERY shot will hit you. That's why you are getting killed by missiles. Good engines really help against missiles if you don't have a defence drone.
Alternatively, just go for smashing their weapons so they can't fire the missiles? I know its not so effective with the 1 power missile systems, but for the powerful ones it can really help.

Jephrey wrote:I made no assumptions, star wars boy. So go away and play with your little munchkin friends.

And for some reason you have something against Star Wars, and you're being rude about it. It doesn't make his posts any less valid.

I can also confirm that enemy ships CAN run out of Drones and Missiles, I've seen it happen, though typically it will only happen if you have a defence drone allowing you to survive long enough to drain their supply.
Typically, they will kill you with missiles before that happens, or you will kill them, so its easy not to notice.

I don't really see a need for a middle difficulty, though what people were saying about using sliders might be good, maybe picking difficult settings will increase your score as well.
Kenshkrix
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:00 pm

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby Kenshkrix » Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:55 am

Starbug wrote:I can also confirm that enemy ships CAN run out of Drones and Missiles, I've seen it happen, though typically it will only happen if you have a defence drone allowing you to survive long enough to drain their supply.
Typically, they will kill you with missiles before that happens, or you will kill them, so its easy not to notice.

Yes, they definitely have a finite supply of missiles and drones, they just usually start with enough to more than kill you. This is easy to test if you get a hull repair drone and a defense drone.

My plan for missiles is usually to up engines early, because ~50% dodge chance is incredible in any game. Even if this means that my pilot will dodge all of the healing bombs I try to use on myself.
Derakon
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:05 am

Re: Need a middle difficulty

Postby Derakon » Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:32 am

Kenshkrix wrote:Even if this means that my pilot will dodge all of the healing bombs I try to use on myself.

Conveniently, you can instantly disable your evasion by powering down the engines, and then instantly re-enable the engines to get your evasion back. So if you want to drop a bomb on your own ship, you can so long as no enemy shots are arriving at the same time.

...doesn't mean that your pilot should be dodging self-directed attacks though. It's just a workaround.

This also means that if you ever need to de-power a system to run your medbay, it should probably be the engines, since they're the only system with no startup time and no long-term penalties to having them turned off (c.f. O2 system). Unless of course you have a cloak or teleporter powered up and not in its cooldown timer.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests