Run-Ending Misclicks

General discussion about the game.
Rithaniel

Run-Ending Misclicks

Postby Rithaniel » Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:18 am

So, I'm new to the game, with only about 15 hours in it so far. I've been playing on hard, naturally, with just the standard starter mechs.

Most of my runs have ended on the R.S.T. island, but, this last run, I was doing quite well. I got a perfect on the first island, got an unstable cannon, a pilot who let me move after shooting, and a smoke strike, started sailing through missions without any real problem. Finish R.S.T., beat the snow island, and, after that, got started on the toxic island.

I thought I was unbeatable, but then, I'm doing a mission, have a weapon armed, thinking about my possible moves, and accidentally click. I shoot one of my mechs for 4 damage, killing the pilot and destroying the mech, pushing the mech that took the shot backwards into a building so that the grid is damaged, and leaving me with only one mech left to act, which is currently webbed by a spider egg and unable to move to a more useful position, so I pop it's smoke strike to try and delay as many enemies as possible.

I fail to do anything about the current swarm of enemies, and, next round, even more vek show up. I have two mechs left standing, and there is nothing I can do to stem the flood. I get one round of actions before the enemies attack, none of the attacks are resisted (even though I had a 30% chance of them being resisted), and my entire grid goes from full to completely empty in one round of attacks.

One misclick ended my entire run. And to add insult to injury, when I clicked, a pilot came up with a speech bubble, saying "It's for the greater good."

I am still more that slightly frustrated by this, and the worst part is that this isn't the first time that a misclick has ruined what would have otherwise been a good situation.

What about you guys? Have you experienced similar situations?
5thHorseman

Re: Run-Ending Misclicks