Page 10 of 46

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:46 am
by jackreichelt
Hey Darkfrost. I've got some experience developing for mac and I wouldn't mid making a mac port of this. If you'd like to send me your source code I'd love to give it a whack. PM me and we can sort something out.

Cheers,
jack

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:37 pm
by Darkfrost
It's all built with the .NET framework and C#, but it should run fine with Mono on a mac

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:56 pm
by DiEvAl
What library are you using to read XML files? And how are you dealing with things like <gib1></gib2>?

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:37 pm
by Darkfrost
I'm using a html parser designed for real world html, seems to handle malformed xml fine
http://htmlagilitypack.codeplex.com/

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:45 pm
by Kieve
Why have I not posted before this? Gah! I am slime. :cry:
Fantastic tool Darkfrost, still some bugs to iron out I suppose but thank you tons for the release!

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:04 pm
by Darkfrost
Was wondering when I'd get a reply from you :p

Tell me any issues you have and I'll try and get them fixed asap :)

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:53 pm
by DiEvAl
Kieve wrote:Why have I not posted before this? Gah! I am slime. :cry:
Fantastic tool Darkfrost, still some bugs to iron out I suppose but thank you tons for the release!

Slime? There are no slimes in FTL. I guess you mean "slug" ;-)

Darkfrost wrote:I'm using a html parser designed for real world html, seems to handle malformed xml fine
http://htmlagilitypack.codeplex.com/

Thanks. I'll look into it.

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor NEEDS TESTERS!

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:16 pm
by winterpwner
Darkfrost wrote:Ah, yeah, instructions, sorry! Knew I forgot something!

1. Open FTLEdit, then open up the options. You need to set up your paths to your data and resources folders.
It should be able to do this automatically - If you don't have ftl dat installed, click the download ftldat button to download the installer, then hit the extract files button. It should extract it all and configure the paths. If the cmd windows that pop up disappear instantly, it should atleast take a few seconds, something probably went wrong (Let me know if this happens)
It should save these options next time you load the program, but if it doesn't, let me know!
Click the load existing ship from the game folder button
Now doubleclick on a ship you want to load
(Or, click the create from scratch button)



It closes automatically. Thanks though :P

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: An FTL Ship editor (Please test!)

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:18 pm
by Darkfrost
As in, the cmd boxes disappear straight away?

Weird. I'll have to take a look into that again, it was working at one point :(

EDIT: Yup. Had a trailing slash on it didn't like, whoops! New version uploaded, same url. Auto extract and augment exporting are fixed now

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:14 am
by Earacorn
First off, this is just amazing. Thank you for doing this. Second, I'm having trouble editing the base.. I have just been opening it in paint and changing some little things around.. Then I save it and load the base into the ship editor just fine. But when I try to use it in-game, it is just a huge black box with all the rooms inside :O. I'm a complete noob at this sort of thing and I barely got the ship editor working. Any advice? Thanks again!