Page 43 of 46

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:09 pm
by speedoflight
Is this editor going to be updated?? with some fixes maybe? i really want to try it out.. :(

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:34 am
by xdiesp
Question: if I export the Osprey or Nisos in .xml, and then import them back, I lose the artillery beam. I actually can't see mention of the artillery beam in the editor. What gives, should I use Superluminal if I want to mess with the artillery beam?

UltraMantis: I don't understand what should I do to edit files manually, I could unpack data.dat and resource.dat but nowhere I see the xmls of the player ships. I only ever get those if I export through FTLedit or Superluminal. :cry:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:09 pm
by UltraMantis
Unpack data.dat and resources.dat using GMM, DatManager or any other tool. If you use DatManager, it will unpack the files into a folder of your choice. There you should find the .xml files. You can edit them with notepad.

I have not messed with the artillery beam but i've read that much of it is hardcoded. Maybe someone else can help you there.

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:47 pm
by kartoFlane
Once you have unpacked the archives, go to /data/, you will find a file named blueprints.xml there - this file contains all of the blueprints for all player ships, as well as other stuff. This is the file that you should edit in order to alter system loadout of a ship.

As for artillery, true, it's pretty much wholly hardcoded, however adding artillery to a ship isn't much more complex than adding any other system. I don't know about FTLEdit, but in Superluminal you merely have to assign the artillery system to a room (like you do with any other system), and then add one more weapon mount with slide property set to NO (in Superluminal such mount won't have an arrow coming out of it).
And that's it.

As for your question in Superluminal's topic, xdiesp, I guess I misunderstood what you meant... You have to first pack your exported ship files into a .ftl package, then you'll be able to open it with Superluminal.

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:16 pm
by xdiesp
I'm asking about the artillery beam, because it doesn't show up in FTLedit. I load the Nisos and it's not there, I export it in .ftl and in game it's not there. In Superluminal it does instead.

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:00 am
by Darkfrost
Ah yeah, it'll probably lose that, sorry! Never added anything for the artillery at all, but I should probably make it preserve it if it's already there

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:37 pm
by ThaMobSlayer
It doesnt work, whenever I click on one of the three creating options, this message pops up: "Unhandled exeption has occured in a component in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue." And if I click continue, nothing happens. Second line of text (The more important one): "Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Users\Jonas\Desktop\FTL Shipeditor\data\data\blueprint.xml' " So that sucks, any help?

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:45 pm
by MikuMikuCookie
ThaMobSlayer wrote:It doesnt work, whenever I click on one of the three creating options, this message pops up: "Unhandled exeption has occured in a component in your application. If you click continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue." And if I click continue, nothing happens. Second line of text (The more important one): "Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Users\Jonas\Desktop\FTL Shipeditor\data\data\blueprint.xml' " So that sucks, any help?


I didn't read the past few pages of the thread, so I'm going to go by just this one post:

Are you sure you extracted the files? And if so, double check and make absolutely sure the program is listing the correct path to the xml.

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:16 am
by Husky
why did you guys put edit on the hull and max power up to 1000 when it'll crash the game and also is there a way to have more weapons to the game

also wats the max power for the ship <wanting to make a capital ship so i need alot of power> :3

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:37 pm
by Darkfrost
You can happily add more than 4 weapons, you'll have to open the blueprints xml file and add the extras manually though ! Just be warned it's not really designed for more than 4, so the UI breaks a bit

If the power breaks at 1000, the max is probably 255