[TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open source!

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
DryEagle
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:17 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby DryEagle » Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:39 am

Trying to set up a ship, but no matter what I do, I can't place the piloting station - all the others are ok, but piloting just won't stick to a room... any ideas?
All ships I have created include custom weapons, graphics etc:
Image
ImageImageImageImage
alextfish
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:24 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby alextfish » Tue Jan 01, 2013 7:14 pm

lavajci wrote:
alextfish wrote:I have a text tutorial going live tomorrow. It'll show how to use FTLEdit from start to end. But that probably wouldn't help for the kind of glitches people are seeing.


Well I look forward to it! Please link it asap.
The FTLEdit tutorial is posted!
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10320
Weltall Zero
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby Weltall Zero » Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:40 pm

The tutorial says the latest version of the editor places correctly the images respect of the floor layout, but it doesn't seem to do so at all for me. Just downloaded the editor, and even after moving the floor and ship image to overlap with the rooms, in-game they appear completely far away.
Azer Draco
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:13 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby Azer Draco » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:29 am

I believe I have found the portion that you are missing for the weapon mounts.

Unfortunately I am not familiar with C# at all, so I can't help code this. Perhaps my next programming course will be C#....

<weaponMounts>
<mount x="540" y="170" rotate="true" mirror="true" gib="6" slide="up"/>
<mount x="540" y="274" rotate="true" mirror="false" gib="6" slide="down"/>
<mount x="390" y="135" rotate="true" mirror="true" gib="5" slide="up"/>
<mount x="390" y="309" rotate="true" mirror="false" gib="5" slide="down"/>
<!-- artillery mounts testing -->
<mount x="540" y="170" rotate="true" mirror="true" gib="6" slide="up"/>
<mount x="540" y="274" rotate="true" mirror="false" gib="6" slide="down"/>
<mount x="390" y="135" rotate="true" mirror="true" gib="5" slide="up"/>
<mount x="390" y="309" rotate="true" mirror="false" gib="5" slide="down"/>
</weaponMounts>

<!-- Bad combos
1+3; 1+5; 1+6; 1+3+5; 1+3+6; 1+5+6; 1+3+5+6;
any combo of numbers with 6 if there is not 5
-->
<explosion>
<gib1>
<velocity min="0.6" max="1"/>
<direction min="60" max="120"/>
<angular min="-0.4" max="-0.1"/>
<x>8</x>
<y>127</y>
</gib2>
<gib2>
<velocity min="0" max="0.4"/>
<direction min="0" max="90"/>
<angular min="-0.4" max="0"/>
<x>38</x>
<y>36</y>
</gib2>
<gib3>
<velocity min="0.5" max="1"/>
<direction min="-40" max="90"/>
<angular min="-0.5" max="1"/>
<x>48</x>
<y>6</y>
</gib3>
<gib4>
<velocity min="0.4" max="1"/>
<direction min="120" max="200"/>
<angular min= "-0.2" max="1"/>
<x>51</x>
<y>206</y>
</gib4>
<gib5>
<velocity min="0" max="0.5"/>
<direction min="230" max="310"/>
<angular min= "-0.2" max="0.2"/>
<x>187</x>
<y>57</y>
</gib5>
<gib6>
<velocity min="0.6" max="1"/>
<direction min="240" max="300"/>
<angular min= "-1" max="1"/>
<x>388</x>
<y>120</y>
</gib6>
</explosion>


This is direct from the Kestrel.xml file. I haven't been able to identify the img file for the individual weapons for them to be utilized in the editor.

As a side note, I would suggest combining the options form into the ship design form if you are able. This would streamline the program's use, as well as allow the adjustment of weapon sprite placeholders.

I am currently working on figuring out if these lines are static or dynamic in relation to the weapons used. Since all of the weapons "jump" into the same positions on the ship, I would believe that these are static placements in regards to the base ship design and placement. If this is the case, then a simple "transparent placeholder" entitled "Weapons Mount 1" and so on would do the job nicely. All that the placeholder would need to do is designate where the weapon placeholder is in the X/Y grid that the game uses. Since the ShipEditor already does this with the base ship and its rooms, this should be a fairly easy patch.
Dreamstorm
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:13 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby Dreamstorm » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:28 pm

Finally found out what was meant with the data and resources folder. You might want to clarify where you can find these.

Now it's reccommended that I download and run 'ftldat' to get an 'extracted version' of 'these' whatever that means and whatever 'these' refers to.

The link for ftldat refers to http://westerbaan.name/~bas/ftldat/ftldat-latest.exe, which will download a .exe that instantly disappears the moment it finishes downloading. I've tried disabling my virus protection software, but evry time the download is either terminated or the program diappears.

This is not a very user-friendly mod to set up. Please include a readme or explain better what is required to run this program properly. Don't just throw jargon at me and expect me to understand what I'm supposed to do.

EDIT: Finally managed to run ftldat. Now what...? http://i.imgur.com/1F8bu.png
Dreamstorm
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:13 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby Dreamstorm » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:38 pm

My previous post was deleted? Why?! I'm asking for help!

Long story short, ftldata has been run and the resource.dat and data.dat folders haven been linked under 'Options'. Now what?

http://i.imgur.com/1F8bu.png
Tekidek
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby Tekidek » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:42 pm

Still don't know what do. Instead of buttons there's only white spaces, either when creating or loading ship.
Path to extracted data/resource went normal. Please, help me. :|

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/4530/s ... mehere.jpg

Image
UltraMantis
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby UltraMantis » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:49 pm

Dreamstorm wrote:My previous post was deleted? Why?! I'm asking for help!

Not deleted but delayed by the anti-spam feature. It was caused by automated code mistaking your post for spam. It happens sometimes with newly registered users. You should have been notified that your post will be delayed, erm not sure what happened there. :?

I apologize for the incovenience and confusion.
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.
OnyxShadow
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:12 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby OnyxShadow » Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:41 pm

Any idea why my layout does not line up with my ship graphic? All I did was change the 2nd system repair drone to a defense drone on the Engi B.
OnyxShadow
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:12 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.91 18th Dec] Open sou

Postby OnyxShadow » Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:11 pm

A few pages back someone else posted an updated version of the program that wasn't on the homepage for this editor or mentioned on the front page of this thread.

https://github.com/Darkfrost/FTLEdit

It did get the ship graphic lined up with the framework layout. However, the shields, weapons, etc. were still wonky. Looking forward to a version where I can change a couple numberical values and not have it throw a dozen unrelated things out of whack...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests