[TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open source!

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
suron
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby suron » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:42 pm

I looked over the thing and couldn't see any way to change how the stations are set in a room..just wondering if there's any way to preview them in the creator even if you're not actually able to move them..so I can set things up right.

so far I've had to scratch every ship I've edited because consoles/graphics load in stupid places...like the "engine" in front of a door..or where the pilot sits on the left side of a 2 square (left to right) room when it should be on the right because that's where the front is (like on Kestrel).

anyway to do this at all?
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby DiEvAl » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:46 pm

You can edit the positions of stations manually. I think it's in blueprints.xml.
Zaffre
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:09 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.87] (Please test!)

Postby Zaffre » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:33 pm

Darkfrost wrote:
Zaffre wrote:Sometimes, when I try to open Options, the program crashes


Aha! Thank you!
Just tracked down that one and fixed it! Tell me if it happens anymore :)

New build up! v0.88
- Fixed a crash that happens sometimes when opening the options window after closing it
http://toastedlemons.com/FTLShipEdit.zip

It works now. I think it's a good tool, but some undo/redo functions would be nice though. Other than that, it's great. :)
User avatar
winterpwner
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby winterpwner » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:46 pm

Darkfrost wrote:
snip
Can you make sure you extracted it properly? img/GUI/roomfuncs/s_pilot_overlay.png seems to be missing from the folder you installed the editor


So do I have to paste all the files from the editor to the FTL folder?
Image
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby Darkfrost » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:53 pm

The editor can be anywhere, but you seem to be missing some of the files from the zip that it comes in
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
bobirov
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.87] (Please test!)

Postby bobirov » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:17 pm

suron wrote:How do you set up the beam the Fed Cruiser uses onto another ship? or is this even possible yet? if not, do you plan on putting this in?

If you look in the blueprints.xml file for the Federation Ship you'll see that the artillery is added via a <artillery power="1" room="6"/> tag. You can add this (in an empty room) and presumably add the arty beam to your ships. I haven't tried yet myself.

suron wrote:On a couple ships I edited (and ended up having to delete) sometimes the "manned" station on the bridge is in the wrong spot (mostly noticable on a 2-room left->right room..it'll be on the left most tile instead of the right one) Is there a way to fix this? and as above, if not are you adding a function to set where the interaction is?

For my custom Kestrel I just replaced the pilot declaration from FTLEdit with the one from the original ship:

Code: Select all

<pilot power="1" room="0" start="true" img="room_pilot">
   <slot>
      <direction>right</direction>
      <number>0</number>
   </slot>
</pilot>

The number there I believe is the square within the room to place the seat and I think it goes like this:
0 1
2 3

The same <slot> tag can be used for the medbay and others as well I believe.

suron wrote:Last Kestrel I edited the "shield" was smaller than the ship itself for some reason..any ideas why?

I'm having this same problem and was wondering if anyone knows how to work around it? I've added <shieldImage> and <cloakimage> tags to the blueprint and also tried swapping around the img and layout in the <shipBluePrint> declaration, neither seemed to work. And yes, I re-packed after making the changes.

Its not a major issue but it winds up leaving the cockpit and maybe a few other rooms outside of the protection of the shield.

P.S.
Thanks much for this program, it is was finally motivated me to get ftldat and start playing around tweaking my own ships. I felt this functionality was lacking in the game and it adds to replayability if you can play with your own ship designs.
User avatar
winterpwner
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.88] (Please test!)

Postby winterpwner » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:40 pm

Darkfrost wrote:The editor can be anywhere, but you seem to be missing some of the files from the zip that it comes in


Hm... Can you post the latest version with the complete files? I downloaded the most recent one and it doesn't seem to like 64 bit windows 7. (i.e the CMD line that extracts the data.dat and resources.dat closes immediately.)
Image
bobirov
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:00 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.87] (Please test!)

Postby bobirov » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:43 pm

bobirov wrote:
suron wrote:Last Kestrel I edited the "shield" was smaller than the ship itself for some reason..any ideas why?

I'm having this same problem and was wondering if anyone knows how to work around it? I've added <shieldImage> and <cloakimage> tags to the blueprint and also tried swapping around the img and layout in the <shipBluePrint> declaration, neither seemed to work. And yes, I re-packed after making the changes.

Its not a major issue but it winds up leaving the cockpit and maybe a few other rooms outside of the protection of the shield.

I think I figured it out, I believe this is what was produced by FTLEdit for the shield tag:

Code: Select all

<shields power="2" room="5" start="true" img="room_pilot" />

When I changed the img="room_pilot" to img="room_shields" I think it fixed this particular issue.

YMMV
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.87] (Please test!)

Postby Darkfrost » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:49 pm

bobirov wrote:I think I figured it out, I believe this is what was produced by FTLEdit for the shield tag:

Code: Select all

<shields power="2" room="5" start="true" img="room_pilot" />

When I changed the img="room_pilot" to img="room_shields" I think it fixed this particular issue.

YMMV

Doh! Thanks, that'll be fixed in the next release

The shield size, I believe is set by the
ELLIPSE
200
200
0
0
part at the top of the layout txt file (Width, height, x offset, y offset I assume?). No way to change this inside the editor yet, but I'll add it at some point :)
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
Whale Cancer
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:28 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.87] (Please test!)

Postby Whale Cancer » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:50 pm

bobirov wrote:
bobirov wrote:
suron wrote:Last Kestrel I edited the "shield" was smaller than the ship itself for some reason..any ideas why?

I'm having this same problem and was wondering if anyone knows how to work around it? I've added <shieldImage> and <cloakimage> tags to the blueprint and also tried swapping around the img and layout in the <shipBluePrint> declaration, neither seemed to work. And yes, I re-packed after making the changes.

Its not a major issue but it winds up leaving the cockpit and maybe a few other rooms outside of the protection of the shield.

I think I figured it out, I believe this is what was produced by FTLEdit for the shield tag:

Code: Select all

<shields power="2" room="5" start="true" img="room_pilot" />

When I changed the img="room_pilot" to img="room_shields" I think it fixed this particular issue.

YMMV


I believe suron is referring to the shield image and not the shield system (i.e. room) image.

I don't know what this editor is doing (i'm doing ships by hand until a fully functional editor comes out), but the size of the shield is contained in kestral.txt

Code: Select all

ELLIPSE
350
220
-30
0


First line is 1/2 width, second is 1/2 height, third is x offset, fourth is y offset.

Edit: Ah, beaten by seconds by DarkFrost.
Contribute to help save the Whales from their various diseases! *DELAYED* Should release the skeleton with the main quests attached by the end of the week (By NOV 9)! *DELAYED* Don't listen to my dates! Things always seem to come up!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests