[TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open source!

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Choggomac
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:17 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Choggomac » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:33 am

I am still having issues where there is a transparent box behind the ship. Also when I cloak, the ship graphic disappears. here is some screenshots.

Cloaked Ship
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/ ... bd1676.jpg

Ship with Transparent Box
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/ ... a05661.jpg
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Kieve » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:38 am

Hm... keep getting "unhandled exception" errors when trying to export the .XML of a "from scratch" build. Also, doesn't seem to load any of the default weapons or drones to pick from, despite having the paths set correctly in options. Still, building the room layout is SO much faster this way than editing each by hand, and the power settings for systems are a godsend.
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Kieve » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:41 am

Choggomac wrote:I am still having issues where there is a transparent box behind the ship. Also when I cloak, the ship graphic disappears. here is some screenshots.

Cloaked Ship
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/ ... bd1676.jpg

Ship with Transparent Box
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v519/ ... a05661.jpg


Choggomac, can you post a download for the files you're using there? IMG\Ship files and the ship.txt / .xml of it? From what I can tell in those screens, it seems like it's more a fault in the graphics than the coding, but it'd be easier to look at them directly than guess.
Choggomac
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:17 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Choggomac » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:49 am

I've only done your ship editor exporting to .ftl, I don't know enough to use the blueprints or .txt files.

This should work, heres to testing out Google Drive

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B5srmb ... G40bHM5MTg
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Kieve » Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:36 am

You'll need to manually add

Code: Select all

   <shieldImage>stealth</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>stealth</cloakImage>

to the bottom of your ship's blueprint (just above the </shipBlueprint> tag). By default, it might be looking for a "stealth_2_shields/cloak".png and not finding it. Also for cleanliness' sake, remove the

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="us-ascii"?>

line from the top of your append file - I'm not sure if affects anything in the blueprint or not, but I'd avoid unnecessary tags whenever possible.
I don't see the .XML listed for your ship but I'm guessing it's identical to the original stealth_2 since no gibs are being changed or weapon-mounts adjusted.
Dr.Noz
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:05 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Dr.Noz » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:12 am

I have been trying this out all today and I have to say I'm loving the UI and functionality. The only real issue I've run into is if I try to change the ship floor or base into a custom one it will just reset to the original for that ship when I load it into the game. I would really love to be able to use my own drawings/color schemes as my ship but as far as my limited knowledge goes I have yet to find a way to make that work. Is that something that should be possible with this tool?
User avatar
winterpwner
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:42 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby winterpwner » Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:56 am

************* Exception Text **************
SFML.LoadingFailedException: Failed to load texture from file img/GUI/roomfuncs/s_pilot_overlay.png
at SFML.Graphics.Texture..ctor(String filename, IntRect area)
at SFML.Graphics.Texture..ctor(String filename)
at FTLShipEdit.Ship..ctor()
at FTLShipEdit.Form1.listBox1_DoubleClick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnDoubleClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 (RTMGDR.030319-2600)
CodeBase: file:///c:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
FTLShipEdit
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Kids/Desktop/FTL%20Ship%20Editor/FTLShipEdit.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.278 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.282 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 built by: RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
sfmlnet-window-2
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 0.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Kids/Desktop/FTL%20Ship%20Editor/sfmlnet-window-2.DLL
----------------------------------------
sfmlnet-graphics-2
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 0.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Kids/Desktop/FTL%20Ship%20Editor/sfmlnet-graphics-2.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
HtmlAgilityPack
Assembly Version: 1.4.6.0
Win32 Version: 1.4.6.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Kids/Desktop/FTL%20Ship%20Editor/HtmlAgilityPack.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Here, I just got this when trying to load a ship from the files.
Image
Choggomac
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:17 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Choggomac » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:03 pm

Kieve wrote:You'll need to manually add

Code: Select all

   <shieldImage>stealth</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>stealth</cloakImage>

to the bottom of your ship's blueprint (just above the </shipBlueprint> tag). By default, it might be looking for a "stealth_2_shields/cloak".png and not finding it. Also for cleanliness' sake, remove the

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="us-ascii"?>

line from the top of your append file - I'm not sure if affects anything in the blueprint or not, but I'd avoid unnecessary tags whenever possible.
I don't see the .XML listed for your ship but I'm guessing it's identical to the original stealth_2 since no gibs are being changed or weapon-mounts adjusted.


Ive gone through 3 sectors now and it never registered that the transparent box was supposed to be the shield graphic...genius!
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Darkfrost » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:46 pm

Kieve wrote:Hm... keep getting "unhandled exception" errors when trying to export the .XML of a "from scratch" build. Also, doesn't seem to load any of the default weapons or drones to pick from, despite having the paths set correctly in options.


Doh ._. looks like I forgot to parse the blueprints.xml when you click that button! i'll fix that asap :)

Will take a look at the other issues too!
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
Doom Lich
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.84] (Please test!)

Postby Doom Lich » Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:25 pm

Are you going to make a way to modify starting crew?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests