[TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open source!

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Ixtab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:34 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Ixtab » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:37 am

Hi, I am new to playing FTL, and I have tried to fiddle with the editor a bit. So far, it all seems pretty good, except for one thing. If I put any Slugs to start on the ship, it never saves them. I was still able to play a bit with no crew at all, since I had put it to start with three slugs.
It even takes them away if I dont change the starting number of them.

I searched the forums, but have not found a fix yet. I will keep on looking, but if anyone knows how to fix this, it would be much appreciated.
Darkfrost
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Darkfrost » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:45 am

Yup, looks like you found a bug :)

Was just a minor typo in the code! New version is up now, should be fixed! :)

v0.96
- Fixed position offset issue in the top left of screen
- Fixed exporting slug crew count
http://jacobkeane.co.uk/FTLShipEdit.zip
Love FTL? Wish you could fly around in the USS Enterprise, the Tardis, or a ship that looks just like your own face? Check out FTLEdit, a ship editor for FTL, so you can create your own custom ships and play them!
Don't forget to share them too! :)
Ixtab
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:34 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Ixtab » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:58 am

Awesome! Thanks.
President Larry
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:40 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby President Larry » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:44 am

Hey, I need some help with getting this program to run on mac. I tried a winebottler/wine program and it failed miserably, so I tried the mono thing but I have no idea how that works. Could somebody help me with getting the editor working on a mac?
Weltall Zero
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Weltall Zero » Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:47 am

Darkfrost wrote:Yup, looks like you found a bug :)

Was just a minor typo in the code! New version is up now, should be fixed! :)

v0.96
- Fixed position offset issue in the top left of screen
- Fixed exporting slug crew count
http://jacobkeane.co.uk/FTLShipEdit.zip


Offset is not fixed at all, I'm afraid. I simply loaded the Kestrel from the origiginal files, deleted the upper (starboard) airlock, and saved as .ftl; the ship was offset by one square. Worse, there was no way I could find to fix it by moving the entire ship on the grid.
DryEagle
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:17 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby DryEagle » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:38 am

As I posted several weeks ago, the ship editor refuses to show which room the cockpit is in, whether it's a new ship or an old one loaded. Defaults to room 0 but it would be easier to just see where it is when designing layout...
All ships I have created include custom weapons, graphics etc:
Image
ImageImageImageImage
President Larry
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:40 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby President Larry » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:33 am

How do you use this on a mac please?
Tails
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:20 am

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Tails » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:24 am

So I've downloaded this and have utterly failed to get it to work for me, I've failed in an astounding number of ways, and am ready to give up and admit my inability to figure out custom shipbuilding.

As I am simply trying to do a custom layout for the secondary rock cruiser hull, i was wondering if I could pm a screenshot or two of as far as I've gotten, and someone could walk me through the rest or simply finish it for me?
I know it sounds pathetic, but i am at my wit's end here.
ImDotTK
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:22 pm

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby ImDotTK » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:45 pm

I was wondering if someone could help me understand what I'm doing wrong.

After I make changes to the ship, I export it and use the FTL mod manager to patch the mod in. It just never works, ever. My ship never appears.

Could someone give me a step by step text tut on how to do it properly please?
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: [TOOL]FTLEdit: FTL Ship editor [v0.95 11th Jan] Open sou

Postby Kieve » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:57 pm

ImDotTK wrote:I was wondering if someone could help me understand what I'm doing wrong.

After I make changes to the ship, I export it and use the FTL mod manager to patch the mod in. It just never works, ever. My ship never appears.

Could someone give me a step by step text tut on how to do it properly please?


... :roll:
You mean like the stickied topic with the big [TUTORIAL] tag right here?

That being said, for your ship to be playable it has to replace one of the defaults - 9 original ships or their B variants - and of course it needs to be a ship you've already unlocked or it won't show up for you anyway.
Read through the tutorial there first, and if you're still running into problems, I'm sure we can get them ironed out. It always helps to be specific though - "My ship never appears" isn't as useful as "I tried to replace the Kestrel B, but I only see a floor plan - the ship image is gone." /example

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests