Page 136 of 164

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 7:33 pm
by The_Bear
We are going to fight 2 rogue ai bosses tomorrow at 10:00 UTC, and we need as many players as possible to join us.

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:52 pm
by Reaperisonline
not sure if bug, but reporting anyway

jumped from 111:154 to 106:157 at 21:45 UTC.
clicked 'install' module at the same time the jump occurred.
normally when u jump the install button will grey out, making it impossible to build.
instead the background became white as seen in pic, and javascript became unresponsive.

no damage done tho, logged in with another instance, ship was still in FTL
Image

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:28 pm
by jrb00001
We killed those two RAI bosses today and it was way too easy (we had 5 BS and 1 CR). We are going to try 4 bosses next time.
Video can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4Bb0M4tKvU
Original file: https://static-692b8c32.de/tachyonunive ... 258-02.flv

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:58 pm
by jrb00001
Found a bug: There were two players: "Bishop" and Bishop ". They were both in the "Players/Players.lst" had their own directory. One of them moved as we did a hyper jump. The other one didn't. The "Universe/X175Y198/players.dat" had two entries for "Bishop" (after the hyper jump).

Things that didn't work:
  • Relog
  • Restart the client
  • Restart the server
  • Do a local jump
  • Do a hyper jump
  • Set spawn point and die

The way to fix it:
  • Delete "Bishop " from "Players/Players.lst"
  • Delete "Players/Bishop "
  • Delete the second copy of "Bishop" from "Universe/X175Y198/players.dat"

Re: Hurray! Another multiplayer clone project. :)

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:36 am
by kcd.Spektor
Reaperisonline wrote:not sure if bug, but reporting anyway


There was probably a nullpointer :D
Thanks for reporting it, I will have a look into it later.

Possible Glitches

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:50 pm
by Bishop
Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Re: Possible Glitches

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:48 pm
by jrb00001
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.

Re: Possible Glitches

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:24 pm
by Bishop
jrb00001 wrote:
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.


I'm sure the 300 was on my character. (can see the scrap on your ship if your at the ship store?)
Sorry, I meant Hyperdrive. I bought a Light Scout (LS3) and had a Small HD upgraded to MK3.

Thanks for your help.

Re: Possible Glitches

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:36 pm
by jrb00001
Bishop wrote:
jrb00001 wrote:
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Secondly, I've found that when i sell my ship the amount i get over rights the amount i already had on me. So if i had 300 and i sold my ship for 700 instead of having 1000 i'd only have 700.

Thirdly, when I buy a new ship the engine won't allow me the option to travel any further then one sector n the map despite how much i upgrade my engine.

And finally, is there a way to save you progress if you play offline. (Hosting on your own server)

Besides that, this is a great game.
Thank you.

Bishop.

Did you have the 300 in your character or on the ship? If on the ship, that is expected as it is added to the price of the ship.

The engine doesn't allow you to do hyper jumps, you need the hyperdrive for that. With bigger ships, it is possible that you don't even get a single sector without better / more HDs.

Progress is saved automatically all 5? 10? minutes. If you want to stop the server, use "/save <enter> /exit" or click the X of the window to save the progress and stop the server.


I'm sure the 300 was on my character. (can see the scrap on your ship if your at the ship store?)
Sorry, I meant Hyperdrive. I bought a Light Scout (LS3) and had a Small HD upgraded to MK3.

Thanks for your help.

You can see both while your are somewhere on the ship (left side is ship, middle is character).

An LS should be able to jump about two sectors with a single small HD MK1, I think.

Re: Possible Glitches

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:48 am
by kcd.Spektor
Bishop wrote:Hi. Firstly, let me say I love this game. It's everything i felt FTL should have been. So thank you for that.

Thanks for the kind words, just what I needed to get a bit more inspiration to continue developing. :)

As for the bugs, what jrb says is mostly right.
Except that if you sell a ship that still has scrap in it's cargo - you will only get a portion of that scrap back.