[MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Vhati » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:25 pm

John Luke Pack Hard wrote:
DiEvAl wrote:Regarding door tunnels again. Even if modder doesn't show it in any way, player can still tell which doors are connected by hovering over one of them:

That's complexity without clarity, which is a bad game design design principle. I'll see if I can get something up and running myself.
???
Highlighting door pairs, when you're about to click on one, is clarity. And not very complicated.

Drawing spaghetti across the ship is complicated to program, complicated and confusing to look at depending on the quantity/arrangement/orientation of the doors, and is unlikely to look good when without taking the hull's art into consideration. If the lines are part of the hull/floor art, it can be exactly how the modder wants it to look.
John Luke Pack Hard
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:45 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby John Luke Pack Hard » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:27 pm

kartoFlane wrote:Regarding door tunnels... It'll work well if the doors are aligned, but what if the rooms are in completely different places around the ship? Or one of the linked doors is horizontal and the other is vertical? Programming the game to resolve this automatically would be somewhat difficult and unreliable.
It might be possible to implement some kind of node system to instruct the engine how to draw the tunnels (so that it's possible to navigate around rooms etc) but I feel like it'd be wasted effort for a feature that is purely cosmetic.
That said, I don't really have any alternative to suggest...


Yes, I'm trying to get something working because I believe I spotted a problem in terms of layers of animations

As Div said, he believed the modders themselves should draw in the ship background image to indicate the connectedness of two rooms. However, the background image will be completely covered by the foreground rooms. As such, we'll need a system to cover that.

In addition, this is an engine, not a mod in and of itsself. I believe the correct philosophy here is to give the tools to the modders to make the mod good, not do the work for them.

Somewhere, there needs to be a tool to either make the tunnel or draw it manually. FTL - as it is - can't fully support that functionality.

Vhati wrote:Highlighting door pairs, when you're about to click on one, is clarity. And not very complicated.

Drawing spaghetti across the ship is complicated to program, complicated and confusing to look at depending on the quantity/arrangement/orientation of the doors, and is unlikely to look good when without taking the hull's art into consideration. If the lines are part of the hull/floor art, it can be exactly how the modder wants it to look.


As I just said to clarify my position, look up. There should be a tool to indicate that manually, not an automatic engine to draw it for them.
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Vhati » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:32 pm

John Luke Pack Hard wrote:I believe the correct philosophy here is to give the tools to the modders to make the mod good

Somewhere, there needs to be a tool to either make the tunnel or draw it manually. FTL - as it is - can't fully support that functionality.
Sounds like a job for ship editors (polyline or bezier with endpoints snapping to edges of room squares).
John Luke Pack Hard
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:45 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby John Luke Pack Hard » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:36 pm

Vhati wrote:Sounds like a job for ship editors (polyline or bezier with endpoints snapping to edges of room squares).

I'll write that down.
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Vhati » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:43 pm

John Luke Pack Hard wrote:the background image will be completely covered by the foreground rooms.

Oh, you want an overlay layer to draw schematic lines across all the rooms, not corridors that weave around them.

Adding a static image layer to the engine with togglable visibility wouldn't be too problematic if it doesn't clutter the GUI/hotkeys. Better make that button disabled/hidden when the image isn't provided.
John Luke Pack Hard
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:45 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby John Luke Pack Hard » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:47 pm

Vhati wrote:Oh, you want an overlay layer to draw schematic lines across all the rooms, not corridors that weave around them.

Adding a static image layer to the engine with togglable visibility wouldn't be too problematic if it doesn't clutter the GUI/hotkeys. Better make that button disabled/hidden when the image isn't provided.


For this purpose I believe it would be better if we bind this overlay image to the ship class - non-static of course.
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Vhati » Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:08 pm

John Luke Pack Hard wrote:
Vhati wrote:Adding a static image layer to the engine with togglable visibility wouldn't be too problematic if it doesn't clutter the GUI/hotkeys. Better make that button disabled/hidden when the image isn't provided.

For this purpose I believe it would be better if we bind this overlay image to the ship class - non-static of course.

Yeah, an optional attribute to set the image when a mod defines the ship.

By static, I meant image-file based, as opposed to dynamically generated by the engine with code.
An animated overlay is still doable I guess. Obviously not a static member of a java class. ;)
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby DiEvAl » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:18 pm

I think you are talking about TWL's <overlay> tag. It specifies an image that's drawn on top of all child widgets.
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Vhati » Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:14 pm

DiEvAl wrote:I think you are talking about TWL's <overlay> tag. It specifies an image that's drawn on top of all child widgets.
Can you have several of those, like in Swing's JLayeredpane?

Or is that tag unique, like the top layer, known as the glass pane?
If unique, and if widgets can just be drawn anywhere to overlap, specifically tying the door schematic to one of the background widgets seems inconsistent (though not necessarily wrong), when you're also doing floors, room decoration, fires, crew, etc, each successively higher, in between the hull and schematic. *shrug*
maskda
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:42 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby maskda » Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:06 pm

Apologies for not reading through all 32 pages, but would custom systems/subsystems, custom resources and a more easily editable GUI for various things (store, resources, systems etc.) be a thing? :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests