[MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Mr. Mister
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:51 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Mr. Mister » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:45 pm

Can we have the "Overdrive" part with warp-speed effects?
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby DiEvAl » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:50 pm

Looks pretty similar, doesn't it?
Image
Also I was experimenting a bit with rooms that are not aligned to grid and testing how door rendering works when door entrances are not adjacent (a.k.a. portals):
Image

Can you pull my commits?
Omndra
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Omndra » Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 pm

Mr. Mister wrote:Can we have the "Overdrive" part with warp-speed effects?

No. Its already hard enough to read.
thomasfn
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby thomasfn » Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:50 pm

Moved to github. Also pulled all of DiEvAl's changes (which was quite painful since git decided it didn't know how to merge files anymore).

New repo url: https://github.com/thomasfn/ftl-overdrive
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby DiEvAl » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:00 pm

Added openable doors:
Image
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby DiEvAl » Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:43 pm

Sector maps generated completely by lua script!
Image
Image
Unfortunately it generates too many hostiles and too few nebulas. I still need to tweak the probability distributions a bit.

EDIT:
Now each civilian subtype has probability 1/15, each hostile has probability 1/18, and each nebula has probability 1/9 (for sector 7; for earlier sectors some subtypes have probability 0 and other's probability is increased proportionally). There are 5 civilian subtypes, 6 hostile and 3 nebulas. So all 3 types have probability 1/3.

For now all these probabilities are hardcoded in the lua script.
Image
EDIT 2: Commited to github.

Next: sectors and events.
thomasfn
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby thomasfn » Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:25 am

Sorry I haven't been active and working on it recently, I've been rather busy with real life stuff lately - I'm planning a coding session in the near future. Your work looks great div!
hellcatv
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby hellcatv » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:41 am

Cool to see this progressing so far
I just tried it and got it working in linux

I needed to modify the config.map of the Client/bin/Debug/sfmlnet-window-2.dll
in Client/bin/Debug/sfmlnet-window-2.dll.config
(for all 3 sfml dll's)

And I had to use the replacement LuaInterface because the included one uses mixed mode C++/CLI
The code is here.
https://github.com/stevedonovan/MonoLuaInterface

With those changes it runs beautifully until I get to the sector selection.

For me the drawing looks rather odd
Image
are others seeing that?

Also: when I click on a door it opens, but I have to move my mouse a pixel before clicking again closes the door. clicking then clicking again directly only serves to open the door.
Mr. Mister
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:51 am

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby Mr. Mister » Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:14 pm

It's awesome that you can now have games with differently connected sector nets! Are these screenies just some proof of concept, or do you plan on keeping that randomization avaliable? How possible would it be to have sectors with more than two outgoing branches?
DiEvAl
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:46 pm

Re: [MOD][WIP] FTL: Overdrive

Postby DiEvAl » Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:26 pm

Mr. Mister wrote:It's awesome that you can now have games with differently connected sector nets! Are these screenies just some proof of concept, or do you plan on keeping that randomization avaliable?

It's also random in vanilla ;-)

Mr. Mister wrote:How possible would it be to have sectors with more than two outgoing branches?

It won't happen by default, but it should be possible to make a mod for this.

hellcatv wrote:With those changes it runs beautifully until I get to the sector selection.

For me the drawing looks rather odd
are others seeing that?

For me it looks fine.

hellcatv wrote:Also: when I click on a door it opens, but I have to move my mouse a pixel before clicking again closes the door. clicking then clicking again directly only serves to open the door.

Yeah, I noticed that, but I haven't looked into it yet.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests