[Tool] Superluminal 2.2.1 - FTL Ship Editor

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
Abs
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:01 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby Abs » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:20 pm

wolfboyft wrote:@kartoFlane

This is in regards to the big fat problem.

Okay, here's my stupidly OP power-cruiser (test)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xagsz8r22t2ua ... w.ftl?dl=0


It has no floor. And no longer any artillery.

You just might need captains edition to make it work, but that's unlikely. :(


I took a look at it and couldn't get it working.

  • I added a blank floor.
  • Your system starting power is greater than the power available in your reactor. Fixed that by lowering all system levels to 1.
  • Thought maybe the larger rooms were the issue, so replaced the 3x2 rooms with 2x2.
  • Removed all weapons, augments, drones.

None of the above got it to work. Unfortunately, that's when I ran out of time (since my modding time per week is rather limited). Sorry I couldn't find the answer for you. My only recommendation is to star again from scratch and add one system at a time until you break it.

Abs
Image
Click to go to the mod's facebook page for the latest updates!
wolfboyft
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:13 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby wolfboyft » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:23 pm

Abs wrote:
wolfboyft wrote:@kartoFlane

This is in regards to the big fat problem.

Okay, here's my stupidly OP power-cruiser (test)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xagsz8r22t2ua ... w.ftl?dl=0


It has no floor. And no longer any artillery.

You just might need captains edition to make it work, but that's unlikely. :(


I took a look at it and couldn't get it working.

  • I added a blank floor.
  • Your system starting power is greater than the power available in your reactor. Fixed that by lowering all system levels to 1.
  • Thought maybe the larger rooms were the issue, so replaced the 3x2 rooms with 2x2.
  • Removed all weapons, augments, drones.

None of the above got it to work. Unfortunately, that's when I ran out of time (since my modding time per week is rather limited). Sorry I couldn't find the answer for you. My only recommendation is to star again from scratch and add one system at a time until you break it.

Abs


Okay :(
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Sep 07, 2014 4:37 pm

Couldn't figure it out either; if anyone has any idea as to why this is happening, I'd like to know so that I can fix this in the editor.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 792
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby RAD-82 » Sun Sep 07, 2014 6:12 pm

Gib with a negative position. I don't know if that matters, although if it did, I would think it would wait for the ship to be destroyed to crash the game.

Ship is starting with 10 weapon power. I know it can't have 10 power without an edited weapon system, but I doubt that is causing crashes, since I would expect it to default to the system max.

Starting weapons and drones (count=) is set to 4, but it only comes with 3 weapons and 3 drones. I don't know if that missing 4th item causes a problem.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
dogglez7777
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:31 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby dogglez7777 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 3:31 am

Hi! I'm trying to use this editor and the FAQ so far hasn't answered my question. First of all, can I save my ship as a .shp? If not, is this planned in the next update? A quick reply would be nice. But take your time. :D
User avatar
NarnKar
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: this forum
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby NarnKar » Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:03 am

The .shp format was discontinued. It used to be available in earlier versions, but got too difficult to code for; the option to "open .shp" is only there so Superluminal 2.06 has backwards compatibility with earlier versions.

Instead, what you can do is save a half-finished ship mod as a .ftl file. Then, when you're ready to resume your work, go to the mod management tab and load your half-finished ship.
dogglez7777
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:31 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby dogglez7777 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:11 am

NarnKar wrote:The .shp format was discontinued. It used to be available in earlier versions, but got too difficult to code for; the option to "open .shp" is only there so Superluminal 2.06 has backwards compatibility with earlier versions.

Instead, what you can do is save a half-finished ship mod as a .ftl file. Then, when you're ready to resume your work, go to the mod management tab and load your half-finished ship.

Ahhhh! Thanks, now I understand. I saw the FAQ mention that but I didn't fully understand it at the time. I was under the impression I could only save finished ships as FTL files.
User avatar
Metzelmax
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:59 am
Location: Uz'ran Home Dimension

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby Metzelmax » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:23 am

I'm trying to make the room glow images work, but it doesnt show up, no matter if I use custom ones or the standard ones. When ever I use a custom interior it doesnt glow for some reason.

Code: Select all

<roomLayout name="ant_weapons1">
   <computerGlow x="19" y="8" dir="RIGHT" />
</roomLayout>
<roomLayout name="ant_shield1">
   <computerGlow x="6" y="1" dir="UP" />
</roomLayout>
<roomLayout name="ant_pilot2">
   <computerGlow x="19" y="8" dir="RIGHT" />
</roomLayout>
<roomLayout name="ant_engine2">
   <computerGlow x="6" y="54" dir="DOWN" />
</roomLayout>

Code: Select all

<roomLayout name="ant_weapons1">
   <computerGlow x="0" y="0" name="ant_weapons1_glow" dir="UP" />
</roomLayout>

<roomLayout name="ant_pilot1">
   <computerGlow x="0" y="0" name="ant_pilot1_glow" dir="UP" />
</roomLayout>
<roomLayout name="ant_pilot2">
   <computerGlow x="0" y="0" name="ant_pilot2_glow" dir="UP" />

Tried both manually with no success.
Here is the Stuff I made:
ImageImageImageImage
And stuff is always better than no stuff, right?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby kartoFlane » Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:24 pm

@Metzel
Do your custom interior images have a 'room_' prefix? For example, <roomLayout name="ant_weapons1"> refers to an interior image named room_ant_weapons1.png
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
Metzelmax
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:59 am
Location: Uz'ran Home Dimension

Re: [Tool] Superluminal 2.0.6b beta

Postby Metzelmax » Sat Sep 13, 2014 1:43 pm

ah.... fuck. Ok, that was a wasted week.
Here is the Stuff I made:
ImageImageImageImage
And stuff is always better than no stuff, right?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests