[Tool] Superluminal 2.2.1 - FTL Ship Editor

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby kartoFlane » Mon May 26, 2014 12:11 pm

@Valster
Just copy the bold text (of course, change ErrorChecker to Superluminal). However, prior to that you have to navigate into the editor's directory -- if you're confused about that, the video linked in the FAQ should explain that.
Also removed the link to the script, as I've deleted it some time ago...
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
FtDLulz
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:42 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby FtDLulz » Mon May 26, 2014 9:19 pm

Bug?: You can confirm 'No Weapon List' but not 'No Drone List'.
Also, I can't for the life of me get the game to show the enemy hull image or get the enemy to spawn with a custom list of weapons.
Last edited by FtDLulz on Mon May 26, 2014 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby kartoFlane » Mon May 26, 2014 9:39 pm

FtDLulz wrote:Bug?: You can confirm 'No Weapon List' but not 'No Drone List'.

Huh, nice find. The drone selection dialog is basically a copy of the weapon selection one, and I forgot to update one variable... Thanks for reporting this :)
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
The Legacy
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:24 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby The Legacy » Tue May 27, 2014 12:01 am

Aaaaaaaaaaand I'm back. :mrgreen:

I took a look at it and poked around with it. Looks solid, Kart. :) I didn't see any bugs standing out to me, and adding up to eight weapons seems to work fine. I'd have to dig deeper to confirm it works fine, but so far, keep up the good work!
sovietbear
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Soviet Union

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby sovietbear » Tue May 27, 2014 7:18 pm

Add the Gib Tool! Please! I really, really, really, really, need it. :?
Image
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta

Postby RAD-82 » Tue May 27, 2014 9:46 pm

RAD-82 wrote:I haven't checked this, but I feel like it might be a possible cause for FTL to crash: Can FTL still connect two rooms that aren't adjacent?

kartoFlane wrote:@RAD
Nope, that's not it, just tried that.

If that still works, then it must have some new restrictions, because I have just verified that it causes Escort Duty to crash. I have also verified a crash from a negative X offset, something FTL used to be able to do, although I didn't check the specifics. Escort Duty had a -40 pixel offset, X_OFFSET was -1, HORIZONTAL was -5, but I don't know if it was X_OFFSET being negative, or both of them collectively being negative that caused the crash.

Once I got past both of those, it looked like *this*, but that just isn't right for this mod.

If you haven't done it already, you may need to make sure that people don't cause negative offsets when they try to position their ships.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta

Postby kartoFlane » Tue May 27, 2014 10:27 pm

RAD-82 wrote:If that still works, then it must have some new restrictions, because I have just verified that it causes Escort Duty to crash.

Huh, odd. Maybe I'll play around with my own mods a little over the weekend, see if I can find anything.

RAD-82 wrote:I have also verified a crash from a negative X offset, something FTL used to be able to do, although I didn't check the specifics. Escort Duty had a -40 pixel offset, X_OFFSET was -1, HORIZONTAL was -5, but I don't know if it was X_OFFSET being negative, or both of them collectively being negative that caused the crash.

For all rooms, the following has to be true: X_OFFSET + ROOM_X has to be non-negative -- if for even a single room (/door?) it is false, then the game crashes -- that's been here since vanilla.

RAD-82 wrote:If you haven't done it already, you may need to make sure that people don't cause negative offsets when they try to position their ships.

Actually, that's the sole reason why in the editor you can't place/move rooms beyond the anchor -- so worry not, I've got that covered since the very first release of the old editor ;)

sovietbear wrote:Add the Gib Tool! Please! I really, really, really, really, need it. :?

Already replied to that here
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby RAD-82 » Wed May 28, 2014 12:45 am

I went back and did some more tests. It seems that the doors aren't the cause of the crash. For some reason, FTL just doesn't like that empty space between the two ships and refuses to work unless I put that useless room in between them. The doors can bypass the room just fine as if it wasn't there, but the game refuses to work without it.

Some more testing has shown that it will work with a 1x1 room that is placed within one of the three middle spaces that the 5x1 room occupies. If the 1x1 room is placed on either end, the game will crash. This definitely seems to be a room issue and not a door issue, but I don't understand any of the specifics behind it. I'm not quite sure how this information will help with the ship editor. :?

It seems I can move the front ship back a bit, and it will work! It won't play the same as the original due to the changed location, but people may have to settle for this difference. I just have to fix the image now. Sorry for the bad information about the doors, but I wasn't very thorough in my previous testing to realize it was bad information. :oops:

There is something strange about this crash, though, because the game doesn't just freeze or quit, but it actually pops up a dialog box that forces me to terminate FTL because FTLGame.exe has stopped working.

kartoFlane wrote:it is false, then the game crashes -- that's been here since vanilla.


That wasn't the case before AE, otherwise Escort Duty never would've worked then. The original was really messed up with negative offsets, but it worked. Perhaps it was just rooms themselves that didn't support negative positions before, regardless of the ships actual offset.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
dpqkhanh
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:16 am

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby dpqkhanh » Wed May 28, 2014 7:49 am

Can you edit a inherent .ftl file? :roll:
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] Superluminal2 beta 7

Postby 5thHorseman » Wed May 28, 2014 1:53 pm

HOW ON EARTH did this thread survive 7 days and so many pages without me seeing it? I know I've been a little busy but holy cow.

Nice work there. Can't wait to sink my teeth into this one.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests