Grognak's Mod Manager v1.7 (Updated March 6, 2013!)

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
alextfish
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:24 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby alextfish » Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:03 pm

I have a suggestion for Grognak. I'm not sure if it might disappear in the torrent of tech support requests, but I figure it's worth a go.

As a mod author, the .append setup is a great improvement on having to completely overwrite the XML files. But it's a bit annoying sometimes when mods interact. In particular, clashes can and do occur in situations like this:

Mod A: Wants to change <weaponBlueprint name="Weapon_X"> to adjust its cooldown and power req (but leave everything else the same)
Mod B: Wants to change <weaponBlueprint name="Weapon_X"> to adjust its name and description (but leave everything else the same)

The natural end result is clear: we'd like Weapon_X to have the values from the base game, but with the cooldown and power req specified in Mod A, and the text from Mod B. But there's no way to produce this end result using the .append format. When we change the stats for a <weaponBlueprint>, we have to include all the old data in it even if we're not going to change most of it.

It'd be great if there was a way to write our mods to play nicely with each other like this.

One possible solution would be to make GMM understand a second suffix, not just blueprints.xml.append but also something like blueprints.xml.update. In a .update file, only XML tags with attributes precisely matching existing XML tags in the corresponding file would be recognised. The contents of those tags would be appended within the existing XML tag, but the original contents from the base file would still be there as well.

With this format, Mod A could have blueprints.xml.update saying:
<weaponBlueprint name="Weapon_X"><cooldown>5</cooldown><power>1</power></weaponBlueprint>
and Mod B could have blueprints.xml.update saying:
<weaponBlueprint name="Weapon_X"><title>Death Ray</title><desc>Fires pure death.</desc></weaponBlueprint>

They no longer conflict because they're not required to copypaste the power, cooldown, title, and desc from the original XML file. The mod manager can clearly tell which operations to perform on the base game's version of <weaponBlueprint name="Weapon_X">, and the result is what we want.

So, Grognak, do you think it's feasible to make GMM handle some kind of syntax like this, or some other way to avoid this kind of conflict?
jocelyn
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby jocelyn » Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:40 pm

ken oh wrote:
jocelyn wrote:

Code: Select all

cfg.read("/Applications/FTL.app/Contents/modman.ini")



This got me somewhere (of course, my path is different at /home/kenoh/games/FTL/src/modman.ini), but now it'll bring a Tkinter window up saying that it needs to be in the correct directory. If anyone can look at my tree above and confirm I'm not actually messing this up, that would be awesome.


Hi,

The only thing I see is that you copied/pasted the entire /src directory, and not just the contents. Try moving all of the files inside the /src directory, out of it and up one level to the same folder you have the /src directory in right now. Then delete the empty /src directory.
ken oh
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:03 pm

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby ken oh » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:22 pm

jocelyn wrote:
ken oh wrote:
jocelyn wrote:

Code: Select all

cfg.read("/Applications/FTL.app/Contents/modman.ini")



This got me somewhere (of course, my path is different at /home/kenoh/games/FTL/src/modman.ini), but now it'll bring a Tkinter window up saying that it needs to be in the correct directory. If anyone can look at my tree above and confirm I'm not actually messing this up, that would be awesome.


Hi,

The only thing I see is that you copied/pasted the entire /src directory, and not just the contents. Try moving all of the files inside the /src directory, out of it and up one level to the same folder you have the /src directory in right now. Then delete the empty /src directory.


Haha, that did the trick. Thanks for looking at the tree for me.
Alsojames
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby Alsojames » Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:07 pm

So I unzipped the folder (Grognak's mod manager v 1.4.1) into the FTL folder...now how the heck do I run it?
Kaizerfreak
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:01 am

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby Kaizerfreak » Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:06 am

Tried using the patcher, looks like goes through the DOS command with all the unpacking lines just fine. However, when I click "yes" to run FTL after patching finishes, the game opens for a split second then instantly closes. I opened the game normally and started a new game, but the starting scrap was still 10 and I had included the example scrap mod that came with the program. Any help?

EDIT: Just tried another mod where I confirmed that modding actually was working (one of the replacement ships). Guess the example one is a dud?
wilson356725
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:47 am

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby wilson356725 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:19 am

I tried Installing your Mod Manager (says v1.4) earlier today, and i cannot seem to get it to work.
(using Windows Vista, Gog version)
everything works fine until i try to install new mods using modman.exe
I get the Console window to come up, pop up box comes up, i select the mods, some lines of code run through and then the console auto-closes.
the last line shown appears to be:
struct.error unpack requires a string argument of length 8
i'm running it as an administrator (i'm the only user!)
and the files don't have the read only box ticked.
Whenever i try to open the game, i get a white screen then the game crashes.
i've even tried a clean install; no dice.

anyone got any ideas on how to fix it?
Grognak
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby Grognak » Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:05 am

@alextfish: Yeah, merging has been suggested in the past (there's even a very nice spec for it.) However, it would would require more time and effort to implement than I'm currently willing to spend. Thanks for the nice suggestion though, and if you get the itch to write it... all the code is on github! I would love for someone to fork it and add that feature. :)

@Alsojames, I would suggest looking at the documentation again... or being more specific! :lol:

@wilson, I seem to recall that error occurring before, but I can't recall the solution. Try putting the FTL folder on the desktop, redownload GMM, and try again.
thashepherd
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:45 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby thashepherd » Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:07 am

Hey, Grognak - is here a particular file I have to add to my mod to get a description to show up in your tool? I'm building a mod and it works like a charm otherwise.
You are the weak, and I am the tyranny of evil men - but I'm trying, I'm trying real hard to be the shepherd.

"Wow, that Kieve guy is one angsty nerd eh."
Sonata - "Best use of Common Lisp in an indie space roguelike!"
gumball360
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:39 pm

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby gumball360 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:18 am

Grognak wrote:@wilson, I seem to recall that error occurring before, but I can't recall the solution. Try putting the FTL folder on the desktop, redownload GMM, and try again.

I have the exact same problem as wilson. I also run Vista, but I got the game on Steam rather than GOG. But I see the exact same message in the console window.

I've tried redownloading the mod several times, but it still doesn't work. When I patch the game, even when I don't have any mods selected, the game refuses to load. When I go into the Steam Properties and click Verify Integrity of Game Cache, it says one file has an issue. So it redownloads and works just fine again, except with no mods. When I run Mod Manager again, the game refuses to load again!
User avatar
BrenTenkage
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: On my Chair LPing mods

Re: Grognak's Mod Manager v1.4.1 (Updated Nov 9 2012!)

Postby BrenTenkage » Sat Nov 17, 2012 6:02 am

ok so I downloaded the latest version of the mod tool, got the patch patched in (the scrap bonus one only) and I say yes to starting the game and then it starts up...then the screen disappears and I don't get the play, what did I do wrong?
I make a lot of lets plays of FTL, I also use mods I find on this site http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... 06hca_PXuX
I am also a modder as well, here is my mod hub viewtopic.php?f=11&t=32269

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 52 guests