Page 64 of 127

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:14 pm
by JustImprovise
kartoFlane wrote:All images and sounds, etc. are located in the resources.dat file. Slipstream Mod Manager -- the tool you need to install mods -- has an unpacking functionality (File > Extract Dats...), so you can use that.


Thanks sooooooooooooo much!!!!

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:44 pm
by Manters
I've seen this done in CE. But how can create a custom augment? I don't want functionality in the augment. I just want it for custom events.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:05 pm
by steamtex
Manters wrote:I've seen this done in CE. But how can create a custom augment? I don't want functionality in the augment. I just want it for custom events.


blueprints.xml.append:

Code: Select all

<augBlueprint name="AUG_NAME">
   <title>Augment Name</title>
   <desc>Augment Description</desc>
   <cost>80</cost>
   <bp>8</bp> <!-- As usual, this is useless -->
   <rarity>0</rarity> <!-- How often you'll find it. 0 means never, 1 thru 5 is common to very rare -->
   <stackable>false</stackable> <!-- Benefits can be stacked atop eachother if you have duplicates of this augment? Only usable with hardcoded augments ie rock plating -->
   <value>0.15</value> <!-- Useless unless you use this on a pre existing augment, as augment benefits are hardcoded into the game. 0.15 on rock plating means 15 percent, so you could change vanilla augments to be better than they were before -->
</augBlueprint>

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:16 pm
by Manters
steamtex wrote:
Manters wrote:I've seen this done in CE. But how can create a custom augment? I don't want functionality in the augment. I just want it for custom events.


blueprints.xml.append:

Code: Select all

<augBlueprint name="AUG_NAME">
   <title>Augment Name</title>
   <desc>Augment Description</desc>
   <cost>80</cost>
   <bp>8</bp> <!-- As usual, this is useless -->
   <rarity>0</rarity> <!-- How often you'll find it. 0 means never, 1 thru 5 is common to very rare -->
   <stackable>false</stackable> <!-- Benefits can be stacked atop eachother if you have duplicates of this augment? Only usable with hardcoded augments ie rock plating -->
   <value>0.15</value> <!-- Useless unless you use this on a pre existing augment, as augment benefits are hardcoded into the game. 0.15 on rock plating means 15 percent, so you could change vanilla augments to be better than they were before -->
</augBlueprint>


Thanks alot :D

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:06 pm
by stylesrj
I'm sure it was answered earlier but what exactly does or did the <bp>value</bp> tag actually mean in modding?
Or was it always useless?

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:11 pm
by steamtex
stylesrj wrote:I'm sure it was answered earlier but what exactly does or did the <bp>value</bp> tag actually mean in modding?
Or was it always useless?

Nobody knowssssssss...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:17 pm
by lordrockit
steamtex wrote:
stylesrj wrote:I'm sure it was answered earlier but what exactly does or did the <bp>value</bp> tag actually mean in modding?
Or was it always useless?

Nobody knowssssssss...


If only we knew, it would unlock the secrets of the universe, or just a the secrets of a broken unused feature

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:58 pm
by NarnKar
Although I can't remember where I've heard this, I distinctly remember it standing for Build Points. Back in an older build of FTL (pre-launch), you were able to spend build points to customize your ship layout and starting systems/weapons--in other words, building your own ship in the hangar. This was quickly removed because once you learned which weapons were good to start with (e.g. two BL2's), you could just pick that, and snap the game's difficulty in half. Nowadays it doesn't do anything.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:28 am
by Chrono Vortex
I just started implementing some new events for the starting beacon for one of my mods and what I have so far doesn't seem to work. The ship I'm testing this with uses CHRONO_ION as it's artillery, but nothing I've added appears for it. I'll give you the rest besides the revisions to the starting event to in case I misplaced something there too.

Code: Select all

<mod:findName type="event" name="START_BEACON">
   <mod-append:choice req="CHRONO_ION" hidden="true">
      <text>(Chronosphere) Teleport some weapons onto your ship.</text>
      <event load="CHRONO_START"/>
   </mod-append:choice>
</mod:findName>

<event name="CHRONO_START">
   <text>You’ve been supplied with the requisition codes for a good deal of weapons from both your allies’ and enemies’ arsenals, with the Chronosphere you should be able to time-shift them onto your ship. You decide to contact Allied HQ before you try to acquire anything from the other factions in case complications arise.</text>
   <choice hidden="true">
      <text>Request the Prism Cannon.</text>
      <event>
         <text>The time-shift went smoothly and without complications.</text>
         <weapon name="LASER_PRISM"/>
         <choice hidden="true">
            <text>Continue...</text>
            <event load="CHRONO_0"/>
         </choice>
      </event>
   </choice>
   <choice hidden="true">
      <text>Request the Prism Cannon Mark II.</text>
      <event>
         <text>The time-shift went smoothly and without complications.</text>
         <weapon name="LASER_PRISM_2"/>
         <choice hidden="true">
            <text>Continue...</text>
            <event load="CHRONO_0"/>
         </choice>
      </event>
   </choice>
   <choice hidden="true">
      <text>Request the Mirage Cannon.</text>
      <event>
         <text>The time-shift went smoothly and without complications.</text>
         <weapon name="MIRAGE"/>
         <choice hidden="true">
            <text>Continue...</text>
            <event load="CHRONO_0"/>
         </choice>
      </event>
   </choice>
</event>

As far as I can tell everything is where it should be, including the file directory.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:24 pm
by JustImprovise
Hey everyone, I have been making a ship in superluminal and was wondering how do I reopen that ship to continue editing it? I have saved it as both a DATA folder and as a .ftl file just can't seem to find out how.