Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby meklozz » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:40 am

RAD-82 wrote:Thanks for the help. It looks like I can't give the different artillery rooms different images.

Have I seen someone mention how to place an image in a non-system room, or am I just imagining it? I'm not talking about a large image from another room, but code similar to a system that goes in the systemList. I'll try searching around for a bit to see if I can find it.

I think there was something but can't find it anywhere.

Adding this bbefore any other systems in systelist (if it's not first it crashes sometimes):

Code: Select all

<room room="13" img="room_artillery_chm1"/>


Gives a sort of similar result, except it assumes there should be an /img/icons/s_whoknowswhat_overlay.png and smacks a big black box in the middle (I tried s_room_overlay). But maybe it reminds you of who figured it out or where or something.
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby mr_easy_money » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:37 am

meklozz wrote:
RAD-82 wrote:Have I seen someone mention how to place an image in a non-system room, or am I just imagining it? I'm not talking about a large image from another room, but code similar to a system that goes in the systemList. I'll try searching around for a bit to see if I can find it.

I think there was something but can't find it anywhere.

Adding this before any other systems in systemList (if it's not first it crashes sometimes):

Code: Select all

<room room="13" img="room_artillery_chm1"/>


Gives a sort of similar result, except it assumes there should be an /img/icons/s_whoknowswhat_overlay.png and smacks a big black box in the middle (I tried s_room_overlay). But maybe it reminds you of who figured it out or where or something.

well I found this post (resorted to google's website search, forum search ignores crucial words), viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24901&start=580#p105514, that seems to follow that form, no mention of that image, but has the attribute start="true".
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby meklozz » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:52 am

mr_easy_money wrote:
meklozz wrote:
RAD-82 wrote:Have I seen someone mention how to place an image in a non-system room, or am I just imagining it? I'm not talking about a large image from another room, but code similar to a system that goes in the systemList. I'll try searching around for a bit to see if I can find it.

I think there was something but can't find it anywhere.

Adding this before any other systems in systemList (if it's not first it crashes sometimes):

Code: Select all

<room room="13" img="room_artillery_chm1"/>


Gives a sort of similar result, except it assumes there should be an /img/icons/s_whoknowswhat_overlay.png and smacks a big black box in the middle (I tried s_room_overlay). But maybe it reminds you of who figured it out or where or something.

well I found this post (resorted to google's website search, forum search ignores crucial words), https://subsetgames.com/forum/viewtopic ... 80#p105514, that seems to follow that form, no mention of that image, but has the attribute start="true".

Yeah tried it with start true at some point, doesn't change anything, here is how it looks for me (graphic passing over the lower room is no issue that's just because it was copied, but the box won't go away): https://imgur.com/a/qITC0

Also it seems like only one 'room' is available unfortunately, adding this system only works once.
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby mr_easy_money » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:24 am

meklozz wrote:Yeah tried it with start true at some point, doesn't change anything, here is how it looks for me (graphic passing over the lower room is no issue that's just because it was copied, but the box won't go away): https://imgur.com/a/qITC0

ah okay that black box is like as if there was a system there, so you need that image you described to clear it up.
meklozz wrote:Also it seems like only one 'room' is available unfortunately, adding this system only works once.

at the very least this lets you place the fake system in the leftmost and topmost room, allowing you to add room images in all rooms by expanding the size of the image and add stuff to go in other rooms (the 'large image from another room' thing RAD-82 mentioned).

without the fake system you'd only be able to do that with the leftmost and topmost system, so you wouldn't be able to add anything to rooms above and/or to the left of it.
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby RAD-82 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:17 am

meklozz wrote:Also it seems like only one 'room' is available unfortunately, adding this system only works once.

It seems that 'room' is just a name for a dummy system, so I made three dummy systems: roomleft, roommid, roomright.

I've updated the test file. (link removed, ship is now released, jump to ship post.) I added a 6th artillery (2nd beam to receive artillery upgrades) to the beam room. I adjusted the size of two weapon rooms so the new artillery can fit four Zoltans. I hope these dummy systems don't cause any problems, since crashes were mentioned before. I placed them before the artillery, but it looks like you said it should go before any systems, which would mean first, unless you just meant any systems it would share the room with. I can't exactly do that with three systems needing that first slot, so I wouldn't be surprised if this fails and I have to try again.
Last edited by RAD-82 on Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby meklozz » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:21 am

RAD-82 wrote:
meklozz wrote:Also it seems like only one 'room' is available unfortunately, adding this system only works once.

It seems that 'room' is just a name for a dummy system, so I made three dummy systems: roomleft, roommid, roomright.

I've updated the test file. I added a 6th artillery (2nd beam to receive artillery upgrades) to the beam room. I adjusted the size of two weapon rooms so the new artillery can fit four Zoltans. I hope these dummy systems don't cause any problems, since crashes were mentioned before. I placed them before the artillery, but it looks like you said it should go before any systems, which would mean first, unless you just meant any systems it would share the room with. I can't exactly do that with three systems needing that first slot, so I wouldn't be surprised if this fails and I have to try again.

Only exactly 'room' does anything at all, sorry.

@edit
This is the best I've got right now: https://imgur.com/a/flwGr It uses the artillery duplicate image on the two rooms (I got rid of the chm3, that was confusing, were you trying to fool FTL by adding the empty image?), but adds onto the first one by adding the 'room', which is still black inside unless you have any ideas there. Here:

Code: Select all

<shipBlueprint name="PLAYER_SHIP_FED" layout="chimera" img="chimera">
   <class>Federation Cruiser</class>
   <name>The Chimera</name>
   <unlock>There have been rumors of advanced ship construction in the Rebel Stronghold...</unlock>
   <desc>The Chimera artillery system is complex, but can be very deadly.</desc>
   <systemList>
        <room room="13" img="room_artillery_chm1"/>
      <pilot power="1" room="6" start="true" img="room_pilot_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </pilot>
      <doors power="1" room="15" start="true" img="room_doors_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </doors>
      <sensors power="1" room="1" start="true" img="room_sensors_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </sensors>
      <oxygen power="1" room="9" start="true" img="room_oxygen_chm"/>
      <shields power="1" room="8" start="true" img="room_shields_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </shields>
      <engines power="2" room="4" start="true" img="room_engines_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>down</direction>
            <number>3</number>
         </slot>
      </engines>
      <weapons power="2" room="12" start="true" img="room_weapons_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </weapons>
      <drones power="2" room="18" start="false" img="room_drones_chm"/>
      <medbay power="1" room="10" start="true" img="room_medbay_chm">
         <slot>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </medbay>
      <clonebay power="1" room="10" start="false">
         <slot>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </clonebay>
      <teleporter power="1" room="7" start="false"/>
      <cloaking power="1" room="0" start="false" img="room_cloaking_chm"/>
      <battery power="2" room="11" start="true" img="room_battery_chm"/>
      <mind power="1" room="14" start="false" img="room_mind_chm"/>
      <hacking power="1" room="5" start="false" img="room_hacking_chm"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="13" start="true" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_BEAM"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="3" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_ION"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="3" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_LASER"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="17" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_LASER"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="17" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_ION"/>
   </systemList>
   <weaponSlots>2</weaponSlots>
   <droneSlots>3</droneSlots>
   <weaponList count="2" missiles="3">
      <weapon name="CHM_BOMB_HEAL_SYSTEM_MINOR"/>
      <weapon name="CHM_BOMB_HEAL_CREW_MINOR"/>
   </weaponList>
   <droneList count="0" drones="2">
   </droneList>
   <health amount="30"/>
   <maxPower amount ="3"/>
   <crewCount amount = "2" class="human"/>
   <crewCount amount = "2" class="energy"/>
   <aug name="ENERGY_SHIELD"/>
   <shieldImage>fed_cruiser</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>fed_cruiser</cloakImage>
</shipBlueprint>


I guess if you went with the 4 tile room and then changed the images (maybe only use the top computers) you could probably hide the surplus there.. If you want to go for something like that.
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby RAD-82 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:24 pm

I finally went and installed Java, so I can do my own testing now. This reliance on others for such complex issues was just bothering me too much.

meklozz wrote:were you trying to fool FTL by adding the empty image?

FTL adds a slight transparency to the room images. Since I was stacking systems, I was trying to prevent the artillery rooms from having a more solid look by not stacking a 2nd image. I clearly failed, since each artillery img is overridden by the final artillery system. I've got an idea what I'll do now.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
EarlRatliff1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:12 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby EarlRatliff1 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:21 pm

I really appreciate this forum's resources: thanks to them, I managed to learn to create two weapons that're modified forms of starting weapons.

I'd like to ask: is there a way to create a weapon that defies some of the hardcoded behaviors in the game? For example, is it possible to create a beam that can miss, or a beam that strips a layer or two of shielding yet can't ever deal more than 1 hull damage per room hit?
Official_KP
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Official_KP » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:16 pm

When creating ships from the games ship gibs and parts and stuff do I use the ones with glow or no glow?
User avatar
Arfy
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:14 am
Location: The S.S Maple

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Arfy » Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:43 pm

Official_KP wrote:When creating ships from the games ship gibs and parts and stuff do I use the ones with glow or no glow?


(Most of this is assuming you use GIMP) You should use the ones with no glow, but you can use the magic wand tool for other gibs (such as the Kestrel's gibs)

But if you want to add a glow to your finished ship, I'd recommend you add a drop shadow (It's underneath Filters --> Light and Shadow);
Offset X and Y: 0
Blur radius: ~6-15
Color: Any pinkish color
---

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests