Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby meklozz » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:05 pm

CarreraCT wrote:I'm sorry to keep on messaging you but I still cannot do it right. I have tried for almost an hour now trying to get the text to work but I've come to the conclusion that I've done it all wrong again. I have gotten it zipped up into a .ftl file and the event is a event.xml.append file in the same fashion as your screenshots have shown (Which yes they helped significantly with understanding as I'm more of a visual learner) but I have to be doing something wrong with the actual editing as its the only thing that I'm not fully confident in. Ive tried two ways to modify the startbeacon text, 1. I copied the code you sent two messages ago in your response
<event name="START_GAME">
<text>The data you carry is vital to the remaining Federation fleet. You'll need supplies for the journey, so make sure to explore each sector before moving on to the next. But get to the exit before the pursuing Rebel fleet can catch up!</text>
</event>

<event name="START_BEACON">
<text>Welcome to a new sector! Get to the exit beacon and jump to the next sector before the pursuing Rebels catch you!</text>
<choice hidden="true">
<text>Continue...</text>
<event/>
</choice>
<choice req="engines" lvl="1" hidden="true">
<text>(Mod) Strip a near-by asteroid for scrap.</text>
<event>
<text>You take a shuttle and grab as much metal as you can.</text>
<autoReward level="HIGH">scrap_only</autoReward>
</event>
</choice>
</event>

which I have tried editing its own custom file and 2. Taking a copy of the actual game data and modifying that directing as its own .append. Neither have worked. I'm starting to get rather upset at myself for not figuring this all out already with the amount of help you've given me, but sadly I still haven't gotten to it. Thanks for your help so far though

This is functional except for the fact that you wrote event.xml.append, not events.xml.append - details like this will stop your stuff from working. It also needs to be in a folder named data, mr_easy_money probably covered it (structure goes like file.ftl/data/events.xml.append).
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3645
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby stylesrj » Mon Sep 18, 2017 9:17 pm

When it comes to modding sound files, I noticed a thing called "Count"

Does that mean how long the sound plays for, or does it mean you need to reach that number of instances of that sound to hit full volume?
Because I think I may have made a horrible mistake with one of my sound files with a "count" of 17... because it was a 17-second long file...
WhiteWeasel
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:36 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby WhiteWeasel » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:41 pm

When playing around with a Chain Beam, I can't quite get the glow you get for each charge like you do with the vulcan to work. EDIT: I've Manage to resolve it, the Boot animation must be at the top. An easy thing to forget if it's not fresh in your mind.

Code: Select all

<animSheet name="beam_resonant" w="297" h="75" fw="33" fh="75">weapons/beam_resonant.png</animSheet>
<weaponAnim name="beam_resonant">
   <sheet>beam_resonant</sheet>
   <desc length="9" x="0" y="0"/>
   <chargedFrame>1</chargedFrame>
   <fireFrame>2</fireFrame>
   <firePoint  x="19" y="40"/>
   <mountPoint x="4" y="62"/>
   <boost>beam_resonant_charge</boost>
   <chargeImage>weapons/beam_resonant_glow.png</chargeImage>
beam_resonant_charge
</weaponAnim>

<animSheet name="beam_resonant_charge" w="132" h="75" fw="33" fh="75">weapons/beam_resonant_chain_glow.png</animSheet>
<anim name="beam_resonant_charge">
   <sheet>beam_resonant_charge</sheet>
   <desc length="4" x="0" y="0"/>
   <time>1.0</time>
</anim>
Image
User avatar
Arfy
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:14 am
Location: The S.S Maple

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Arfy » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:07 am

WhiteWeasel wrote:When playing around with a Chain Beam, I can't quite get the glow you get for each charge like you do with the vulcan to work. EDIT: I've Manage to resolve it, the Boot animation must be at the top. An easy thing to forget if it's not fresh in your mind.


Heh, there appears to be a unneeded line in the weaponAnim, "beam_resonant_charge" underneath the charge image line.

(And I also made a chainbeam and chainbeam vulcan myself, not significant in anyway but -- eh, something to bring up :P)
Discord: AToMIC#9226
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby RAD-82 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:13 am

Some questions from a person who doesn't want to install Java, so they can't test these things themselves.

1. Can the base damage of a weapon be a non-integer?
I know damage boosts on chain weapons can be non-integer.
I'm looking to make a weapon with 2.5 damage and boost it .1 damage for 15 shots. (Or maybe 2.4 damage, boosting .2 damage 8 times.)

2. How many artillery systems (or weapon mounts) can be put on a ship?
The Rebel flagship uses 4 (8), but I'm looking to use 5 (9) on my ship.

3. When using multiple artillery systems, which one gets upgraded: the first one or the last one in the shipBlueprint?
Is this the same system that doesn't require Zoltans for you to manipulate the power on it?
I should probably look at the Radithor code for research, but I don't feel like downloading it right now.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
User avatar
Arfy
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:14 am
Location: The S.S Maple

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Arfy » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:00 pm

RAD-82 wrote:
1. Can the base damage of a weapon be a non-integer?
I know damage boosts on chain weapons can be non-integer.
I'm looking to make a weapon with 2.5 damage and boost it .1 damage for 15 shots. (Or maybe 2.4 damage, boosting .2 damage 8 times.)

2. How many artillery systems (or weapon mounts) can be put on a ship?
The Rebel flagship uses 4 (8), but I'm looking to use 5 (9) on my ship.

3. When using multiple artillery systems, which one gets upgraded: the first one or the last one in the shipBlueprint?
Is this the same system that doesn't require Zoltans for you to manipulate the power on it?
I should probably look at the Radithor code for research, but I don't feel like downloading it right now.


1. I am really not sure, did some testing with a weapon with 1.5 damage and increases by 0.5, where only the final chain-charge would do 2 damage.


2. I am not sure about the weapon slots, but at most that I've seen is 7 total weapon slots and that should apply to artillery systems.


3. To quote,
Narnkar wrote: -neither Artillery weapon receives the benefits of additional upgrades. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT UPGRADE YOUR ARTILLERY SYSTEM. DON'T DO IT. DON'T. IT'S BAD. STOP.


Overall, I am really unsure about answering these questions, so just take my answers with a grain of salt.
Discord: AToMIC#9226
User avatar
mr_easy_money
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: A galaxy far, far away

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby mr_easy_money » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:43 pm

Arfy wrote:
RAD-82 wrote:1. Can the base damage of a weapon be a non-integer?
I know damage boosts on chain weapons can be non-integer.
I'm looking to make a weapon with 2.5 damage and boost it .1 damage for 15 shots. (Or maybe 2.4 damage, boosting .2 damage 8 times.)
1. I am really not sure, did some testing with a weapon with 1.5 damage and increases by 0.5, where only the final chain-charge would do 2 damage.

I reached the same conclusion; the starting damage always rounds down, so for example

had a weapon start at 1.5 damage, boosted 0.5 damage 3 times, wanted a max of 3 damage at strike 4. however, it never reached 3 damage, states that the chain damage cap is 2.5.

had a weapon start at 1.4 damage, boosted 0.2 damage 8 times, wanted a max of 3 damage at strike 9. it reached 2 damage on strike 6 instead of strike 4, stated that the chain damage cap was 2.6 (1 + 8*0.2 = 2.6)

so it doesn't work :( . I did also however find that when I tried starting the weapon at 0.5 damage, that rounded down, so then the next strikes didn't increase the damage by anything and therefore did absolutely nothing. do note however that setting a 0 damage weapon with damage boost can be useful, because the damage boost applies to other damage types like ion, sysDamage, and persDamage. 8-)
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby RAD-82 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:02 pm

Sorry for my late reply. WiFi issues... :evil:

First, I'll provide a link to a ship that I can't test (download link removed, jump to another post instead), with an Imgur link of what the ship should look like. Because of all the artillery systems, another mod needs to be used to acquire other systems.

mr_easy_money wrote:had a weapon start at 1.5 damage, boosted 0.5 damage 3 times, wanted a max of 3 damage at strike 4. however, it never reached 3 damage, states that the chain damage cap is 2.5.

Disappointing, but now I'm curious about that damage cap of 2.5. Would adding hullBust to the weapon have it do 4 or 5 damage? Do crew take 30 or ~37 damage?

As for artillery, the test ship I've provided currently has 5, but based on the results of the next test that I'm going to ask about, I may add a 6th. I've looked at the Radithor files and looked at a video, and it seems that the first artillery system is controllable from the UI, but it is the last artillery that is shown in the hanger. As for the upgrade screen, I'm going to assume that is also the last artillery system, based on Narnkar's statement. Here is a modified blueprint for the FedC, with a 2nd artillery system stacked on the 1st one. Someone needs to try and upgrade the artillery and see what happens, then stick two zoltans into the artillery room and see if one weapon will fire at 40 seconds while the other fires at 50 seconds.

Code: Select all

<shipBlueprint name="PLAYER_SHIP_FED_3" layout="fed_cruiser_3" img="fed_cruiser_3">
   <class>Federation Cruiser</class>
   <name>The Fregatidae</name>
   <unlock>Get to Sector 8 with the Federation Cruiser Type B and Advanced Mode enabled to unlock this ship.</unlock>
   <desc>With a Flak Artillery weapon and an improved Clonebay, only the most suicidal of infantry chooses to fly on this ship.</desc>
   <systemList>
      <pilot power="1" room="6" start="true"/>
      <doors power="1" room="13" start="true" img="room_doors">
         <slot>
            <direction>up</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </doors>
      <sensors power="1" room="10" start="true">
         <slot>
            <direction>down</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </sensors>
      <oxygen power="1" room="12" start="true" img="room_oxygen_2"/>
      <engines power="2" room="5" start="true" img="room_engines_8">
         <slot>
            <direction>left</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </engines>
      <shields power="2" room="15" start="true"/>
      <weapons power="1" room="11" start="true" img="room_weapons">
         <slot>
            <direction>up</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </weapons>
      <drones power="2" room="17" start="false" img="room_drones_3"/>
      <medbay power="1" room="1" start="false"/>
      <clonebay power="2" room="1" start="true"/>
      <teleporter power="1" room="8" start="true"/>
      <artillery power="1" room="9" weapon="ARTILLERY_FED_C"/>
      <artillery power="1" room="9" weapon="ARTILLERY_FED_C"/>
      <cloaking power="1" room="4" start="false" img="room_cloaking_3"/>
      <battery power="1" room="7" start="false" img="room_battery_16"/>
      <mind power="1" room="16" start="false" img="room_mind_3"/>
      <hacking power="1" room="2" start="false" img="room_hacking_9"/>
   </systemList>
   <weaponSlots>4</weaponSlots>
   <droneSlots>2</droneSlots>
   <weaponList count="0" missiles="5">
   </weaponList>
   <droneList drones="0"/>
   <health amount="30"/>
   <maxPower amount ="7"/>
   <crewCount amount = "1" class="human"/>
   <crewCount amount = "2" class="energy"/>
   <crewCount amount = "1" class="mantis"/>
   <aug name="O2_MASKS"/>
   <shieldImage>fed_cruiser</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>fed_cruiser</cloakImage>
   <floorImage>fed_cruiser</floorImage>
</shipBlueprint>
Last edited by RAD-82 on Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
meklozz
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:11 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby meklozz » Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:14 pm

Your ship has 5 artilleries, here's screenshots: https://imgur.com/a/FC9yq

Doesn't seem possible to hullbust an odd number, went straight from 4 to 6, never managed 7: https://imgur.com/a/FqMic

I modified the fed C code a bit for clarity, but yes, it shows the last artillery, it upgrades the last artillery, and it can use more power from zoltans while keeping the first one at base (first no zoltans results in only flak, then one zoltan both shoot together, last you get beam every 20s but flak after 50s): https://imgur.com/a/TOG4n I tried event-upgrading it, did the same as upgrading through the screen, last one.

By the way, Grognak's python based manager still works, if you can get that instead of java.
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby RAD-82 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:50 am

Thanks for the help. It looks like I can't give the different artillery rooms different images.

Have I seen someone mention how to place an image in a non-system room, or am I just imagining it? I'm not talking about a large image from another room, but code similar to a system that goes in the systemList. I'll try searching around for a bit to see if I can find it.
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests