Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Ask questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 13, 2

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:42 am

agigabyte wrote:http://www.ftlgame.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3637&hilit=mantis+combat

Took me 10 minutes to find.


Merci beaucoup.

I'll post up the question of decent Engi Pirate pics for you, Xion.

EDIT:

Thanks for the link, agigabyte, but from the looks of it, you can't set up more than one quest-quest per sector, and their placement seems incredibly randomized...
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Ask questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 13, 2

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:43 pm

Is there a way to control the amount of beacons per sector?
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1478
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Ask questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 19, 2

Postby kartoFlane » Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:52 pm

Nope - they're set by the sector creation algorithm hardcoded in FTL, averaging on 20-30 beacons per sector, IIRC.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Ask questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 19, 2

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:12 pm

How can I specify the sex of a human or ghost added through an event? Or is that impossible?

I'm trying to create AI Avatars with personality, but <crewMember amount="1" class="ghost">JOHN</crewMember> and <crewMember amount="1" class="ghost">CORTANA</crewMember> don't quite give the same taste.

I've a a few events where their banter is rather hilarious, but this is a pretty big block.
Last edited by NewAgeOfPower on Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:52 am, edited 2 times in total.
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Ask questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 19, 2

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:34 pm

Can you give new crew (that were given through events) starting skill levels?
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1478
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 20, 2013

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:27 am

Ghosts use human sprites, just at a lower transparency IIRC, so technically it should be possible to have female ghosts... But I don't know whether it's possible to specify the joining crew's gender in any way.

Guess you could try <crewMember amount="1" class="human" sex="female"/> and see if that works.

Regarding your other question, it's not possible to give crew any skills via events. You gotta earn 'em the slow way.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 20, 2013

Postby R4V3-0N » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:53 am

I think he means crew that start with skill already at store or given during an event...

Personally I do not know but there must be a reason they let you see the his/her/it/thing's skills before you buy them in store (always appear as empty in every skill, maybe something that was cut or just says what they can learn (which is anything/ everything)) just speculating...

And I wanted to ask a question, is it possible to get over 8 crew?
I never seen any mod ship with over 8 or anything.
I've seen a guy get 5 weapon slots.
It's reasonably easy to get 26+ reactor.
Weapon slots act the same as drone slots so Mr 5 slot can apply to drones more or less.

So is there a way to break the cap?
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1478
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 20, 2013

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:49 pm

R4V3-0N wrote:I think he means crew that start with skill already at store or given during an event...

Personally I do not know but there must be a reason they let you see the his/her/it/thing's skills before you buy them in store (always appear as empty in every skill, maybe something that was cut or just says what they can learn (which is anything/ everything)) just speculating...

*shrug* probably something that was cut, as there's literally nothing in the game files relating to crew skills.
R4V3-0N wrote:
  1. And I wanted to ask a question, is it possible to get over 8 crew?
    I never seen any mod ship with over 8 or anything.
  2. I've seen a guy get 5 weapon slots.
  3. It's reasonably easy to get 26+ reactor.
    Weapon slots act the same as drone slots so Mr 5 slot can apply to drones more or less.

1. You can probably start the game with over 8 crew, but at the very first occasion where you receive a new crew member, you'll have to dismiss any surplus.
2. Yes, it's possible to have ships with any number of weapon/drone slots. It's just that the UI doesn't necessarily support that.
3. You can have a ship start with over 26 reactor power via ship blueprint editing, but you can't break that limit via in-game upgrades.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 20, 2013

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:30 pm

kartoFlane wrote:1. You can probably start the game with over 8 crew, but at the very first occasion where you receive a new crew member, you'll have to dismiss any surplus.
2. Yes, it's possible to have ships with any number of weapon/drone slots. It's just that the UI doesn't necessarily support that.
3. You can have a ship start with over 26 reactor power via ship blueprint editing, but you can't break that limit via in-game upgrades.


Addendum: Starting the game with 10 or more crew is possible, but the game will crash upon getting a new crew member.

Having 6 drones is possible, ala the Hayabusa, but the UI will not allow for you to use numerical controls for them. Dunno if Karto's ship editor supports more than 4 weapons.
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread. Updated Oct 20, 2013

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:51 pm

The following test code worked, but acted VERY oddly (not as intended), then stopped working (crashing to desktop immediately upon game start).

The framework, was, of course cribbed from the universal starting beacon.

Events.xml.append

Code: Select all

<event name="START_GAME_BEACON">
    <choice>
        <text>Continue...</text>
        <event load="START_GAME_CHOICES" />
    </choice>
</event>

<!-- Append your start game <choices> or optional actions to this event -->

<event name="START_GAME_CHOICES">
   <text>You are about to set out on your journey.</text>
   <crewMember amount="1" class="ghost" gender="female">Cortana</crewMember>
   <choice>
      <text>Proceed.</text>
   </choice>
</event>


I'm guessing I didn't turn ghosts on or something, but an analysis of Blueprints.xml reveals nothing...
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests