Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1488
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby kartoFlane » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:24 pm

A Future Pilot wrote:1. Is there some way to adjust the likelyhood of different weapons/systems in the stores I created? Is there a way I could do it in such a way that if mod weapons are enabled their likelyhood makes sense as well? (Also, if I increase the likelyhood of say, the sensors, will it still not show up if you already have one?)

Well, you can use the <rarity> tag on system and weapon blueprints, but it's global, and affects availability in all stores throughout the game. There's also a <rarityList> in sector descriptions that can override those values. Crystal sector uses this tag IIRC, so you can check it out for example on how to use it.

@WhiteWeasel
That's from Photoshop, not Gimp, but with a brush/pen/pencil/drawing tool selected, you should be able to just click a spot, then click elsewhere while holding down Shift. This should draw a straight line between the two points.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
TaxiService
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby TaxiService » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:42 pm

kartoFlane wrote:you should be able to just click a spot, then click elsewhere while holding down Shift. This should draw a straight line between the two points.

This. Sadly I'm not really knowledgeable about GIMP (i've tried messing around in it a couple of times but geez, i don't know where anything is!) ...but yeah, this thing usually works in programs like these, it seems.

If you have time try to look for GIMP tutorials that focus on pixel art, maybe! Also i always tell people to get this add-on for GIMP: http://registry.gimp.org/node/186
They're basically scripts that replicate some functions that photoshop has that I think are super useful. Stuff like outer/inner glows/shadows, strokes, gradient/pattern overlays and stuff like that. You can still do the same stuff manually, but IMHO the power of using computers is that they can automate things. >_> If an action takes less time for you to complete it doesn't make your art less good; au contraire, it gives you more time to think about what you can do to make it better.

Another advice is to always experiment a lot. Be curious about everything. Test things. Make theories. Read stuff about it... the usual stuff, you know. : P Learning things can be fun if you read about stuff that interests you. For instance, when i read about color theory i was like "fuuuck, seriously??" And the stuff i learnt helps me have a better understanding of how this planet works!

I can't help but just spew out bullshit from my mouth, it seems? (or fingers, technically) But yeah... like, <insert a la steve jobs quote here>.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Captain Markus
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Captain Markus » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:11 pm

Hello dear community.


Is this possible to create a drone with two or three weapons ? like this:

Code: Select all

<droneBlueprint name="COMBAT_BEAM_2">
   <type>COMBAT</type>
   <title>Drone_Laser22</title>
   <tip>tip_combat</tip>
   <short>¦«•’Ў› ¶¶</short>
   <desc>Very powerful drone</desc>
   <power>3</power>
   <cooldown>1000</cooldown> <!--- Doesn't effect combat drone -->
   <dodge>0</dodge>
   <speed>11</speed> <!--- Change this to increase/decrease firing speed -->
   <cost>60</cost>
   <bp>3</bp>
   <droneImage>drone_beam_2</droneImage>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_BEAM2</weaponBlueprint>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_BEAM2</weaponBlueprint>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_Laser33</weaponBlueprint>
   <rarity>5</rarity>
   <iconImage>beam2</iconImage>
</droneBlueprint>
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby R4V3-0N » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:44 pm

Captain Markus wrote:Hello dear community.


Is this possible to create a drone with two or three weapons ? like this:

Code: Select all

<droneBlueprint name="COMBAT_BEAM_2">
   <type>COMBAT</type>
   <title>Drone_Laser22</title>
   <tip>tip_combat</tip>
   <short>¦«•’Ў› ¶¶</short>
   <desc>Very powerful drone</desc>
   <power>3</power>
   <cooldown>1000</cooldown> <!--- Doesn't effect combat drone -->
   <dodge>0</dodge>
   <speed>11</speed> <!--- Change this to increase/decrease firing speed -->
   <cost>60</cost>
   <bp>3</bp>
   <droneImage>drone_beam_2</droneImage>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_BEAM2</weaponBlueprint>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_BEAM2</weaponBlueprint>
   <weaponBlueprint>DRONE_Laser33</weaponBlueprint>
   <rarity>5</rarity>
   <iconImage>beam2</iconImage>
</droneBlueprint>

I.... do not know... I never tried it... I now know what to do tomorrow morning....
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
Captain Markus
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Captain Markus » Fri Sep 18, 2015 3:21 pm

R4V3-0N wrote:
Captain Markus wrote:Hello dear community.

I.... do not know... I never tried it... I now know what to do tomorrow morning....



okay, thank you.
will waiting tomorrow for your answer ;)
User avatar
Shrooblord
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Shrooblord » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:29 pm

TaxiService wrote:I can't help but just spew out bullshit from my mouth, it seems? (or fingers, technically) But yeah... like, <insert a la steve jobs quote here>.

Code: Select all

<mod:findName type="TaxiService" name="QUOTE_STEVEJOBS">
   <mod-append:event text="I want to put a ding in the universe."/>
</mod:findName>
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby R4V3-0N » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:44 pm

Captain Markus wrote:
R4V3-0N wrote:
Captain Markus wrote:Hello dear community.

I.... do not know... I never tried it... I now know what to do tomorrow morning....



okay, thank you.
will waiting tomorrow for your answer ;)

tested, I hoped it would work but it didn't and worked as I would have expected.

I put a group of weapons down-

drone laser 1
dron ion
drone missile
drone laser 2 (only difference is looks of the laser)
It just used the last weapon blueprint and ignored the rest. I didn't put drone beam there as beams work a lot more differently then most weapons.
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
WhiteWeasel
Posts: 248
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:36 am

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby WhiteWeasel » Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:44 am

It's been a long time, so how would one go about making a custom artillery weapon?
Image
User avatar
Gencool
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:21 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Gencool » Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:58 am

Weasel - Exactly the same as any other weapon, you just load it into the systemList rather than the weapon's list

Code: Select all

<systemList>
<artillery power="1" room="room number" start="true" weapon="ARTILLERY_NAME" img="room_artillery" />
</systemList>


Alternatively, if using superluminal, if you load your mod into it (either by pathing the game before opening the tool or with File>ModManagement) you can choose the weapon through the Artillery slot and it will do this for you.




Also, question; Does anyone know of any ships that only have 1 weapon slot? The game UI breaks and I'm fairly sure someone fixed it at one point, but it's a tricky term to search for.
ImageImageImage
- Gencool (aka Puppetsquid) -- I make weird stuff
User avatar
Chrono Vortex
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:51 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Postby Chrono Vortex » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:21 am

Superluminal is pulling some really janked up stuff with the target box location for enemy ships. Am I doing something wrong or will I just need to fix those offsets myself in the xml code?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage