Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
theDoomBox

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby theDoomBox » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:46 pm

Kn16h7 wrote:Is it possible to have an event add a system to your ship? For instance, I want the reward of a specific event to be a teleportation system.

Also, Is it possible to disable engines out of combat yet?


For your first question, no that is impossible. You can however upgrade existing systems or add reactor power if you like. As for your second question I'm not sure what you mean but you can disable engines outside of combat. You probably don't want to do that though, as it would leave the player stranded indefinitely if there was no event to trigger them turning back on.

Anyways, I have my own question. What am I doing wrong here? Everything works fine until I add this section in.

Code: Select all

<systemBlueprint name="battery">
   <type>battery</type>
   <title>unobtainable</title>
   <desc>unobtainable.</desc>
   <startPower>1</startPower>
   <maxPower>3</maxPower>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <upgradeCost>
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 2 -->
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 3 -->
   </upgradeCost>
   <cost>999</cost>
   </systemBlueprint>
   
   <systemBlueprint name="sensors">
   <type>sensors</type>
   <title>unobtainable</title>
   <desc>unobtainable.</desc>
   <startPower>1</startPower>
   <maxPower>3</maxPower>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <upgradeCost>
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 2 -->
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 3 -->
   </upgradeCost>
   <cost>999</cost>
   </systemBlueprint>
   
   <systemBlueprint name="drones">
   <type>drones</type>
   <title>unobtainable</title>
   <desc>unobtainable.</desc>
   <startPower>1</startPower>
   <maxPower>3</maxPower>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <upgradeCost>
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 2 -->
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 3 -->
   </upgradeCost>
   <cost>999</cost>
   </systemBlueprint>
   
   <systemBlueprint name="hacking">
   <type>hacking</type>
   <title>unobtainable</title>
   <desc>unobtainable.</desc>
   <startPower>1</startPower>
   <maxPower>3</maxPower>
   <rarity>0</rarity>
   <upgradeCost>
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 2 -->
      <level>1</level> <!-- level 3 -->
   </upgradeCost>
   <cost>999</cost>
   </systemBlueprint>
   
User avatar
RAD-82
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Not where a person needs to be...

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby RAD-82 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:55 pm

What exactly is going wrong?

At a quick glance, I don't see anything wrong, but maybe setting drones maxPower to 3 is causing issues?

Second thought, those systems don't belong in the same file. Are you placing sensors and drones in blueprints.xml.append, and placing battery and hacking in dlcBlueprints.xml.append?
Image
Junkyard has FTL mods, mostly ships and a few other things.
theDoomBox

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby theDoomBox » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:22 pm

RAD-82 wrote:What exactly is going wrong?

At a quick glance, I don't see anything wrong, but maybe setting drones maxPower to 3 is causing issues?

Second thought, those systems don't belong in the same file. Are you placing sensors and drones in blueprints.xml.append, and placing battery and hacking in dlcBlueprints.xml.append?


Ah, it's most likely because I placed battery and hacking in blueprints instead of dlcblueprints. What was happening was the mod loaded fine but the ship didn't appear in the hanger.
theDoomBox

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby theDoomBox » Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:17 pm

So I've been looking around and embarrassingly I cant find dlcBlueprints.xml.append. I'm guessing I create it myself but I'm not sure. Can someone give me a rundown of it or an example of what the document would look like. Thanks, sorry for the noob question.
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby R4V3-0N » Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:59 pm

theDoomBox wrote:So I've been looking around and embarrassingly I cant find dlcBlueprints.xml.append. I'm guessing I create it myself but I'm not sure. Can someone give me a rundown of it or an example of what the document would look like. Thanks, sorry for the noob question.

basicly what you said is it. dlcBlueprints.xml.append

Inside it will be pretty much the same as a normal blueprints.xml.append, however instead of normal weapons, it has weapons that require AE to use. (examples of vanilla games = Flak, chain weapons, etc)



Anyway I got a question myself... How is the fastest way to make that pink glow on ships using GIMP and also what is the easiest ways to make the cloaking image?

I think I got getting the outline done and easy. But I got a similar problem with making glows.

The ways I do it is by using the Airbrush tool and slowly going around the lines. This often leads to having LOTS of errors, such as areas to thick or too thin.

It's also very time consuming and I seen on photoshop video guide for it that Taxi made was very simple, Just by using some bizarre tool pop up thingy, simply selecting preferences (colour, distance off glow from line, etc) and then boom, insta perfect glow.

One of my friends who's also an FTL modder often boasts how easy it is with photoshop as he makes gibs, ship hulls, shields, cloak, floor, and glow in under 30 minutes while making ship hulls for me is a task that can take days or even a week. (could be different time spend on the day but I definitely spend more then 30 minutes per sitting)

It's so annoying making a good looking ship hull then you go settle for poor gibs, cloak, shield, etc just because off how worn out I am at the end or having lack of experience on GIMP. (I'm basically using gimp the same way I used Paint 1995 but using layers only to move things around without having the space behind it deleted / altered)
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby kartoFlane » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:12 pm

R4V3-0N wrote:also what is the easiest ways to make the cloaking image?

I have this psd file that I use to make cloaking images. Just plug the ship outline onto the main layer and voila.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3645
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby stylesrj » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:17 pm

How do I make an Ion Intruder Drone that only uses 1 power without giving it to all Ion Intruders? I tried copying the Ion Intruder from the dlcblueprints.xml file and changing the power cost from 3 to 1 but it comes out as a regular Boarding Drone in-game.
User avatar
NarnKar
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: this forum
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby NarnKar » Fri Dec 19, 2014 5:55 am

@Raven @kartoFlane

Actually, the psd doesn't work for me. I don't have photoshop, and GIMP imports the psd as a black lineart layer and a solid black layer. That's a shame.

GIMP is my program of choice for image editing. Free and powerful enough to get what I need done. I'll be telling you what I know with GIMP.

Here are some shield tutorials. I like Kiloace's. Pick which one suits your needs best.

For cloaking images, I do this procedure. I'm going to demonstrate on the banana thing I uploaded in the ship preview thread.

First, I go Filters>Edge-Detect>Edge, which brings up this window.
Image

You'll want to set it to Laplace algorithm, amount: 1, and "black". Which should give you something like this:
Image

After that, go to Colors>Invert (not Value invert). This turns it from black with white edges to white with black edges.
Image

Then go to Colors>Brightness-Contrast, and change the Brightness to 127. This is to reduce the "harshness" of the lines, so that the black edges become grey and thus more easily colorized.
Image

Which should give something like this:
Image

Then go to Colors>Colorize. Personally, the default of Hue 180, Saturation 50, and Lightness 0 works just fine for me, but your image editing software may vary. Mess around. You should eventually have something white with blueish outlines.
Image
Image

Next, delete all the pure white parts. This is done with Color Select on the Toolbox.
Image
Image
Image

And that should give a complete cloaking image. It won't have fancy glows like handmade images, and it may not get all the edges, but it's still pretty good for about ~30 seconds worth of clicking.
Image

And here it is on a space background.
Image

For gibs, I usually just use freeform selection to cut parts of my hull image off, then paste in gibs from vanilla FTL. For the Lux Tempestas, I went a little more freeform and just did it myself.

I don't like glows so I don't do red glows. :L
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3645
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby stylesrj » Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:53 am

For cloaking images, I do this procedure. I'm going to demonstrate on the banana thing I uploaded in the ship preview thread.


I've been wondering how to make cloak images for my Christmas Flagship. This is just brilliant, thanks!
karadoc
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 20

Postby karadoc » Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:39 am

I've been thinking about changing a couple of things to make missiles more viable...

One idea that I'd like to try out is to make missile weapons not lose charge when they are powered down. i.e., if the missile weapon has had power for long enough to be ready to fire, then you can take reactor power away from the weapon to use on some other subsystem and still have the missile stay ready to fire.

I was just wondering of that's something that can be modded into the game. I'm happy to work out how to do it; but I'd like some kind of indication that it's possible before I sink a whole lot of time learning about how modding works in FTL.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Engi-nious and 6 guests