Slipstream Mod Manager v1.9.1 (2018-01-07)

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
UltraMantis
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby UltraMantis » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:53 pm

Whoops, sorry there Cat, didn't see you were online when i edited the post. :oops:
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.
CatWithScissors
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:12 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby CatWithScissors » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:57 pm

nah it's my bad, forgot about the code tag xD
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby Vhati » Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:20 am

@CatWithScissors:
Are the "backup" and "mods" folders missing?
They should be alongside modman.exe.
Otherwise the exe looks confused, thinking it's somewhere else...

Does modman.exe *not* immediately crash if you just double-click?
(albeit unable to patch, because of the aforementioned "denied" error)
CatWithScissors
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:12 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby CatWithScissors » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:11 am

Vhati,
yes, I do have backup and mod folders.
The .exe opens occasionally, like every couple of minutes, but has nothing in it, just blank, stays open for like 10-15 seconds, then crashes. Everytime I open it after that, it crashes on launch.
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby Vhati » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:07 am

CatWithScissors wrote:The .exe opens occasionally, like every couple of minutes, but has nothing in it, just blank, stays open for like 10-15 seconds, then crashes. Everytime I open it after that, it crashes on launch.

Okay, time for a sanity check.
  • Download Slipstream 1.4 for Windows.
  • Extract it to a folder on your desktop.
  • The game should not be running.
  • Right-click modman.exe and "run as administrator". (not a shortcut to modman.exe)
Does that crash?
And if so, what does the log say?


Java 1.7.0_25 might need updating. That version of Java was responsible for a hang on startup, but the bug *it* caused was different from the one you describe.
CatWithScissors
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:12 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby CatWithScissors » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:17 am

It's worked :D
Honestly I think I might have been doing something wrong on my end, not sure what, but everything's working now, got CE running with no problems, thanks for all your help :)
Hopefully I'll have better luck next time :lol:
ethericalAlchemist
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:41 am

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby ethericalAlchemist » Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:35 pm

Hi,

I'm having a bit of a problem with the manager. So it boots up fine, and everything works at first, but when I try to patch the mods in the following error occurs:
Patching failed: java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Program Files (x86)\FTL\resources\data.dat (Access is denied)

Is that a permissions problem? If so, how do I allow it? I'm running a Windows 7 computer
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Sep 29, 2013 5:16 pm

Right-click on the modman.exe, and select "Run as Administrator"
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
ULTIMATUM1638
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:44 am
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby ULTIMATUM1638 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:00 pm

Getting "Patching failed: java.io.EOFException" while patching.
ImageImage
Vhati
Posts: 792
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:01 pm

Re: Slipstream Mod Manager v1.4 (2013-09-20)

Postby Vhati » Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:20 pm

ULTIMATUM1638 wrote:Getting "Patching failed: java.io.EOFException" while patching.

That means some file was smaller than expected.

If you click "Patch" with no mods selected, can you still play the game?
If so, the mod you were trying to use whan that error occurred may be faulty.

If you can't can't even play the game without mods, see the readme for a section called
"If FTL's resources are corrupt..."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests