[Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal [NOT UPDATED TO AE]

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby 5thHorseman » Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:05 am

NewAgeOfPower wrote:
5thHorseman wrote:Though you can change that image.


This is what I'm looking for. How?


Look in img\ship\interior, The ones you'll probably care about are

teleporter_off.png
teleporter_on.png
teleporter_on_glow.png
teleporter_selected.png
teleporter_selected_glow.png

I don't know what does what exactly but it shouldn't be too hard figure it out and/or guess :)
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby kartoFlane » Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:57 pm

ClockALock wrote:Just the hull image. And when I want to, ctrl-z works fine. What's weird is that when I click on the hull image, the coordinates say it's where I put it, but it's not. It'll jump to where I want it, but as soon as I select something else, it jumps back. I can work around it, it's just annoying. I tried updating to the latest version and the same thing happened.

Very weird indeed... There is some reason for the behaviour you're describing, since there's a separate variable that holds the position of the image, and the location displayed in the coordinate boxes (leftover from previous versions...), but there should be no way for them to have different values, ever.

Anyhow, I'm unable to reproduce the bug, so the best I can do is attempt to blindly fix the issue...
Try this - replace the existing superluminal.jar in the editor's directory, and see if the problem persists. I added an additional position update on mouseUp, hopefully it'll prevent the image from jumping.

Failing that, I'll try to get rid of the superfluous variable, which will require much more work, but should fix it for good...
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:32 am

UltraMantis wrote:I forgot where that image is stored, take a look around your unpacked resources. But the problem is that ALL ships with teleporters will use your custom image.


Urk. I guess I'll stick with the stock one then.

So, question, is it possible to add interior images for empty rooms? I love making little doodads for my ships <3
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby 5thHorseman » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:00 am

NewAgeOfPower wrote:
UltraMantis wrote:I forgot where that image is stored, take a look around your unpacked resources. But the problem is that ALL ships with teleporters will use your custom image.


Urk. I guess I'll stick with the stock one then.

So, question, is it possible to add interior images for empty rooms? I love making little doodads for my ships <3


No, and I so wish there was a way :(
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
NewAgeOfPower
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:52 am
Location: ICN Excavalon

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby NewAgeOfPower » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:22 am

5thHorseman wrote:
NewAgeOfPower wrote:
UltraMantis wrote:I forgot where that image is stored, take a look around your unpacked resources. But the problem is that ALL ships with teleporters will use your custom image.


Urk. I guess I'll stick with the stock one then.

So, question, is it possible to add interior images for empty rooms? I love making little doodads for my ships <3


No, and I so wish there was a way :(


*bashes head into wall*
Requiem. The first in the Ascension trilogy. Current version: 0.6 BETA.

Get your Ascension Faction siggys here!
Image
Image
Image
Image
19acomst
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:05 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby 19acomst » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:53 am

Is there any way, using your ship editor, to make a ship use up two fuel per Jump?
Last edited by 19acomst on Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:57 am

I suppose you're asking about fuel -- nope, there's no way to do this.
You could modify events to subtract 1 fuel each time the player jumps (so that each jump effectively costs 2 fuel), but that would require fiddling with events - which have to be edited manually.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
19acomst
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:05 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby 19acomst » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:42 pm

kartoFlane wrote:I suppose you're asking about fuel -- nope, there's no way to do this.
You could modify events to subtract 1 fuel each time the player jumps (so that each jump effectively costs 2 fuel), but that would require fiddling with events - which have to be edited manually.

Is that hard? How would I do that?
User avatar
kartoFlane
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby kartoFlane » Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:59 pm

You can subtract items from the player using <item_modify> tags:

Code: Select all

<item_modify>
  <item type="fuel" min="-1" max="-1"/>
</item_modify>

The event that is called when player reaches the exit is FINISH_BEACON in events.xml. Fiddle around with it, look at the other events to see how it's done, take a look at other mods... If you're completely stuck, creating a new thread to ask your question(s) might be a good idea.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
FTLChangeMahLife
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: SSV SR3 Normandy

Re: [Tool] FTL Ship Editor: Superluminal - version 13-08-29

Postby FTLChangeMahLife » Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:29 am

Sorry for asking, but how do you rotate manned areas for systems? I've tried right clicking, double clicking, clicking and dragging, right clicking with default mouse, and several other things, any idea how to do it? I'm almost done with my first ship mod, I just need this tidbit of info to finish up.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests