Little Help?

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:05 pm

Quick question, do Sub-systems run off the main powergrid, or separate?

In example, if I wanted to give one level of power to Pilot, Engines, Oxygen, and Shields, would I need to specify 4 or 5 units of power?
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
User avatar
Kieve
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Low Orbit
Contact:

Re: Little Help?

Postby Kieve » Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:54 pm

Subsystems are self-powered. Adding extra levels to them won't take away from the ship's "MaxPower" at all, and additional reactor space is not needed for them to run properly.

'Course I don't know what happens to overcharged subsystems, but I suppose you'll find out for us? ;)
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:57 am

Kieve wrote:Subsystems are self-powered. Adding extra levels to them won't take away from the ship's "MaxPower" at all, and additional reactor space is not needed for them to run properly.

'Course I don't know what happens to overcharged subsystems, but I suppose you'll find out for us? ;)


Depends on how much you'll pay. :P Seriously though, thanks for the pointers!
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:59 am

What step did i miss if im getting this error?

C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\FTL Faster Than Light>modman.exe
C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\FTL Faster Than Light

Unpacking data.dat...
Unpacking resource.dat...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 527, in <module>
File "<string>", line 396, in unpackdat
File "D:\My Documents\projects\ftl mod man\build\pyi.win32\main\out00-PYZ.pyz\
ftldat", line 81, in __init__
File "D:\My Documents\projects\ftl mod man\build\pyi.win32\main\out00-PYZ.pyz\
ftldat", line 92, in _read_index
struct.error: unpack requires a string argument of length 8
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
KuroSaru
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Little Help?

Postby KuroSaru » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:09 am

When unpack fails. it means there is a issue with your .dat files. GMM makes a backup under data.dat.bak and resource.data.bak, delete all other files expect these two then remove the .bak from the filenames.

If you then reload GMM and apply your mod it should work again.
[Tool] FTL-Dat ~ Win/OSX/Nix Supported.
Current WIP: FTL Engine - JAVA Implementation | FTL-Dat
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:45 pm

Alright, thanks for the help!
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:33 am

Ok, so ive gotten everything to work pretty well, got the image files set up and working, then boot up my game to see this:
The Buffalo.PNG


What should I do to fix this? I tried editing the room and door positions manually, but the game would crash upon loading the ship. I also tried adjusting the off-set in the XML file but that didnt work either. Should I take it back to FTLEdit, and readjust it in there, or try the .txt file again?
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
thashepherd
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:45 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Little Help?

Postby thashepherd » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:18 am

EchoesofOld wrote:Ok, so ive gotten everything to work pretty well, got the image files set up and working, then boot up my game to see this:
The Buffalo.PNG


What should I do to fix this? I tried editing the room and door positions manually, but the game would crash upon loading the ship. I also tried adjusting the off-set in the XML file but that didnt work either. Should I take it back to FTLEdit, and readjust it in there, or try the .txt file again?


Room positions can't be below 0. I remember there being 3 offsets - layout from base, rooms from layout, and image from layout - but don't recall which is where. You should be OK, just takes trial and error.
You are the weak, and I am the tyranny of evil men - but I'm trying, I'm trying real hard to be the shepherd.

"Wow, that Kieve guy is one angsty nerd eh."
Sonata - "Best use of Common Lisp in an indie space roguelike!"
EchoesofOld
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby EchoesofOld » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:21 am

thashepherd wrote:
EchoesofOld wrote:Ok, so ive gotten everything to work pretty well, got the image files set up and working, then boot up my game to see this:
The Buffalo.PNG


What should I do to fix this? I tried editing the room and door positions manually, but the game would crash upon loading the ship. I also tried adjusting the off-set in the XML file but that didnt work either. Should I take it back to FTLEdit, and readjust it in there, or try the .txt file again?


Room positions can't be below 0. I remember there being 3 offsets - layout from base, rooms from layout, and image from layout - but don't recall which is where. You should be OK, just takes trial and error.


Ok, thanks for that! I already knew trial and error was in my future, I just didnt know that particular error. :P
The Rebel Flagship: The only ship to make the DemonStar look like a pansy.

Be ye wary of the ship with the demon airlock...
UltraMantis
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: Little Help?

Postby UltraMantis » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:09 am

This should help: http://ftlwiki.com/wiki/Modding_Ships

Seems all you need to do is move the rooms (and the entire ship), then offset the ship_base image. x-70 y-35 should do. Since the ship is neatly offset by 35 pixel blocks :)
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests