[Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby rannl » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:20 pm

Updated Randtrel to 0.41
* Fixed some layout bugs.
* A little rebalancing of weapon configurations.
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:38 pm

Hey rannl,
unforunately, the tool does not seem to work for me.
I am using Windows 8.1 and got Java 1.7.0.51 installed.
The command window that gets opened when using the exe simply states that I do not have java.
Starting the jar doesn't seem to do anything.
(And just to be clear, these things work for the slipstream mod manager.)

Did you, by any chance, compile this with Java 8?
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby rannl » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:21 pm

Pandemoneus wrote:Hey rannl,
unforunately, the tool does not seem to work for me.
I am using Windows 8.1 and got Java 1.7.0.51 installed.
The command window that gets opened when using the exe simply states that I do not have java.
Starting the jar doesn't seem to do anything.
(And just to be clear, these things work for the slipstream mod manager.)

Did you, by any chance, compile this with Java 8?


Strange. I'm running on windows 8, and updated to Java 1.7.0.67, with the tool running successfully.
Can you post a screen shot of the tool failing to run on the CMD ?
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:43 pm

rannl wrote:Strange. I'm running on windows 8, and updated to Java 1.7.0.67, with the tool running successfully.
Can you post a screen shot of the tool failing to run on the CMD ?


Sure, here you go.
http://imgur.com/NtA4uTd

First line states that the java -jar does indeed work, though I don't know what the input file would be.
Second line shows the exe.
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby rannl » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:54 pm

Pandemoneus wrote:
rannl wrote:Strange. I'm running on windows 8, and updated to Java 1.7.0.67, with the tool running successfully.
Can you post a screen shot of the tool failing to run on the CMD ?


Sure, here you go.
http://imgur.com/NtA4uTd

First line states that the java -jar does indeed work, though I don't know what the input file would be.
Second line shows the exe.


Okay. You can run directly using java -jar Randtrel.jar -src_file assetList.xml.

Where did you save your downloaded java ?
The .exe file tries to run java based on certain common locations where the java folder should be located.
It seems that in your case the java containing folder could not be found.
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:59 pm

rannl wrote:Okay. You can run directly using java -jar Randtrel.jar -src_file assetList.xml.

Where did you save your downloaded java ?
The .exe file tries to run java based on certain common locations where the java folder should be located.
It seems that in your case the java containing folder could not be found.


It's not on C: ;)
Though I got the PATH variable set for Java, maybe you can use that in the future?
Or maybe you should add some configuration file/prompt to specify the java location.

The parameters you posted (almost, it's RandtrelGenerator.jar) worked, thanks.
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:10 pm

There's a new problem though. When I apply the generated ftl (using ACE) to the mod launcher and start the game, it immediately crashes after the loading screen bar is full and before the main menu loads. There is no error message.

The crash log generated by the game says:

Code: Select all

Version =  1.5.13

Stack Trace:

1 - 0x00473b6f
2 - 0x004799a8
3 - 0x0065da28
4 - 0x00751b5b
5 - 0x004010fd
6 - 0x76f8a22b RtlInitializeExceptionChain
7 - 0x76f8a201 RtlInitializeExceptionChain


[edit]
This is my mod load order:
http://imgur.com/70AIWnJ
Last edited by Pandemoneus on Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby rannl » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:11 pm

Pandemoneus wrote:
rannl wrote:Okay. You can run directly using java -jar Randtrel.jar -src_file assetList.xml.

Where did you save your downloaded java ?
The .exe file tries to run java based on certain common locations where the java folder should be located.
It seems that in your case the java containing folder could not be found.


It's not on C: ;)
Though I got the PATH variable set for Java, maybe you can use that in the future?
Or maybe you should add some configuration file/prompt to specify the java location.

The parameters you posted (almost, it's RandtrelGenerator.jar) worked, thanks.


Thanks for the fix. Did you map the java.exe file or the folder containing the JVM ? If you used the java auto installers, I believe the pathing forJVM should have been updated in the windows registery files, meaning that the new JVM should be pathed correctly during the next windows startup.

EDIT : did you patch CE along with the Randtrel ? The generated ship has no resources, so an ACE version will fail to run without also patching in CE.
Can you send me / post your .ftl file ? I'll take a look at it just in case.
Last edited by rannl on Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:14 pm

rannl wrote:Thanks for the fix. Did you map the java.exe file or the folder containing the JVM ? If you used the java auto installers, I believe the pathing forJVM should have been updated in the windows registery files, meaning that the new JVM should be pathed correctly during the next windows startup.


I mapped the folder containing the java.exe, but the registery is also updated.
The exe still doesn't work, though.

[edit]
rannl wrote:EDIT : did you patch CE along with the Randtrel ? The generated ship has no resources, so an ACE version will fail to run without also patching in CE.
Can you send me / post your .ftl file ? I'll take a look at it just in case.


I updated my post above with the mod load order, but here it is again. ;)
http://imgur.com/70AIWnJ

Here's the ftl:
https://www.mediafire.com/?x55s85ynvmvn5nk
Pandemoneus
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:34 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v0.41

Postby Pandemoneus » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:31 pm

I generated a new Randtrel and it works.
Maybe some of the resulting configurations are bugged?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests