[Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
smashbro011
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:55 am

Re: please help

Postby smashbro011 » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:39 am

FoldedDice wrote:
smashbro011 wrote:I downloaded the the file, unziped it to a location, then tried to run the exe; it looks like its doing something, then nothing- no window with options, no .ftl file to put in a mods folder.
I have the latest version of java both 32 bit and 64 bit, and I'm running on a 64 bit windows 7 computer
-Thanks
Smashbro011


I get the same result unless I run the program with Admin privalages. Have you tried that?

tried that, still nothing.
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: please help

Postby rannl » Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:57 pm

smashbro011 wrote:tried that, still nothing.

Did you manage to run the tool using the command line terminal ? Need your feedback in order to help you out.
smashbro011
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:55 am

Re: please help

Postby smashbro011 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:41 am

rannl wrote:
smashbro011 wrote:tried that, still nothing.

Did you manage to run the tool using the command line terminal ? Need your feedback in order to help you out.

found out it was the name of the file location that the .exe did not like; had to rename "Steam + Games" folder to "SteamGames"... -_-
why the simplest of details made the differance is beyond me.
Russian Rockman
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: please help

Postby Russian Rockman » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:26 am

smashbro011 wrote:
rannl wrote:
smashbro011 wrote:tried that, still nothing.

Did you manage to run the tool using the command line terminal ? Need your feedback in order to help you out.

found out it was the name of the file location that the .exe did not like; had to rename "Steam + Games" folder to "SteamGames"... -_-
why the simplest of details made the differance is beyond me.

Cuz Computers Bro... ;) :mrgreen:
FoldedDice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:37 am

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby FoldedDice » Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:52 pm

It's a generally bad practice to use non-alphanumeric characters in your folder names for exactly this reason. Many programs don't play nice with them and tend to become confused.

EDIT: Since this post is light on constructive content, I think I'll also use the space to make a development comment. Much earlier in the thread, I noticed that Rannl suggested the possibility that there might be some form of integration with CE's Endless Loot mod in the future. I'd like to express my interest in seeing that happen, if it's still being given consideration. It's a bit of a bother to me that the items on the starting ships don't mesh with the rest of the game when I've got both mods running.
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby rannl » Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:21 pm

Been somewhat busy lately, with work and all.
I will certainly add support for CE-EL in the future, since it will add a large amount of possible weapon combinations, and also because I had the pleasure of creating EL's generating tool.
In the immediate future, I'd like to brush up the random augment pools.

Keep on having fun!
FoldedDice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:37 am

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby FoldedDice » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:12 pm

Glad to hear it! Anything that adds more variety to playthroughs will be welcome on my install.
SgtFrog
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:04 am

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby SgtFrog » Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:49 am

Uh, how exactly do I randomize the Type B and C ships? Is it possible to do that currently?
rannl
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:13 pm

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby rannl » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:10 pm

SgtFrog wrote:Uh, how exactly do I randomize the Type B and C ships? Is it possible to do that currently?

The B and C ships are randomized by the tool. After patching a generated .ftl file and running the game, the hangar will contain only randomized ships.
SgtFrog
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:04 am

Re: [Ship Randomizer] The Randtrel v1.3.0

Postby SgtFrog » Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:58 am

rannl wrote:
SgtFrog wrote:Uh, how exactly do I randomize the Type B and C ships? Is it possible to do that currently?

The B and C ships are randomized by the tool. After patching a generated .ftl file and running the game, the hangar will contain only randomized ships.


It's not randomizing my B and C ships and I'm not sure why. Neither AE or ACE option when I use the Random Ship Generator.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests