[SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED 2015/08/16

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby 5thHorseman » Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:26 pm

The Captain wrote:Seemed like I was almost dead a fair amount. But I suppose I could have repaired a little less sometimes - say to 15. Probably would have gotten blown up sooner, though.


Oh I always repair to 15. With my most successful Potential runs I didn't repair at all until I was under 5.

This was on Normal mode before AE was a thing, though. Maybe the ship is simply too hard for Hard mode.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby stylesrj » Sun Apr 05, 2015 10:20 pm

5thHorseman wrote:Oh I always repair to 15. With my most successful Potential runs I didn't repair at all until I was under 5.


I go with the VanguardOfValour approach - Repair the ship up to 2/3 hull (so that'd be 20 HP). Before that, I always fixed it to full. Now I cringe whenever an LPer does it because they're wasting scrap on hull.

Hmmm, maybe I should do a video run on this ship at some point. I like excessive power in systems and if I can avoid ion storms while recording... should be a safe run.

Stupid question but does the Potential come with Long Range Scanners? If it doesn't, I recommend it does to avoid any crashes in those zones (unless it's been reduced to something like 30 bars of power as opposed to the maximum of 60)
The Captain
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:44 am

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby The Captain » Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:10 pm

Yeah, I usually repaired to 20 - unless I couldn't even afford that. 5th Horseman disabled ion storms for this mod.

Instead of Long Range Scanners I would take Drone Control and a Hull Repair Drone. :D
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby 5thHorseman » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:02 am

As stylesrj notes, there are no Ion storms in this mod. I had to remove them to avoid crashes.

Drone Control is a bit too much of an addition, mostly because it cuts into available systems (and therefore cuts down on the ship's potential). I'd rather cut upgrade prices a bit in the early game to make it a bit easier through the first few sectors, and therefore the rest of the game.

However a very large part of me is happy with the difficulty level of the ship as-is :) Make it too easy, and it gets EASY. It's a knife's edge, the design of this ship.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
TheFallenAngel359
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:22 pm

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby TheFallenAngel359 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:23 am

The "Backup Battery" Subsystem also causes issues. With this ship, anything that modifies power will crash the game.
Image
The Captain
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:44 am

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby The Captain » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:34 am

5thHorseman wrote:Drone Control is a bit too much of an addition, mostly because it cuts into available systems (and therefore cuts down on the ship's potential). I'd rather cut upgrade prices a bit in the early game to make it a bit easier through the first few sectors, and therefore the rest of the game.

Getting blown up cuts down on the ship's potential, too. :fakemad:

What about DC+HRD & no drone parts? :pwettypwz?:

Eh, I was making a joke about it, anyway.

@TheFallenAngel359 - You didn't really buy a BB, did you?
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby stylesrj » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:12 am

Backup batteries also are dangerous when hacked. That'll crash the game as well.
User avatar
5thHorseman
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:29 am
Location: On the bridge of The Potential
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby 5thHorseman » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:55 am

It's been a long time not just for my editing of this ship but editing FTL files in general, but I'm almost positive that the battery backup is not an option on this ship. I can tell you that I have vague memories of dealing with it and that the blueprints.xml.append file does not set a battery room. So, there should be no problems there. Please tell me if you're just warning or if you've actually successfully purchased a backup battery and what happened when you did.

I will simply not put Drone Control in the ship, no chance :) However I will revisit the upgrade costs for systems after a few playtests on Hard.
My Videos - MY MOD HUB
Simo-V - The Potential - Automated Scout - "Low O2" Icons
The Black Opal - The Asteroid - The Enforcer - The Pyro

"Every silver lining has a cloud..."
User avatar
TheFallenAngel359
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:22 pm

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby TheFallenAngel359 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:31 am

I never did buy a Backup Battery, don't worry. I'm just saying that from my experience with modding, if the max reactor power is set over 25, it will crash the game. So if you haven't already, you should remove that as well.

Funny enough, when I played this mod, I never saw a BB in the store, so I don't know if it's been removed or not.
Image
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP][AE] The Potential - UPDATED FOR AE!

Postby stylesrj » Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:12 am

I will simply not put Drone Control in the ship, no chance :)


Thank you! I don't know why people like to put Drone Control on their ships rather than make it a choice.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests