[MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
Ginger Dragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:26 pm

[MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Ginger Dragon » Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:19 am

The Rebel Flagship Prototype

Image

A prototype of the Rebel Flagship discovered by Federation scouts that was scraped and spaced by the Rebels due to its key weakness. Its high power weaponry makes it more unstable than most ships.

Features:
Zeus Missiles: Deal MASSIVE System, Hull, and Personnel damage but has a huge cooldown and travels very slowly.

Rail-Gun: It propels a missile at extremely high velocities. Doesn't deal much hull damage, and any shields stronger than 1 bar can easily absorb the blast, but wreaks systems and personnel.

Dual Lasers: If you don't know what these are you should be playing Vanilla FTL right now.

Crusader Beam: An overcharged beam that cannot be manually target and gets the usual shield penetration penalty, but deals 4 damage per room, and can hit the entire ship. (uses the Mirage Dragon beam sound effect from Star Fox 2. I felt the normal beam sound just wasn't intimidating enough :D )

Reduced Health: This ship isn't as overpowered as it sounds. The experimental beam, nuclear payload, and high energy rail-gun make the ship more unstable than most.

Let's Plays:
Bren Tenkage: Playthrough that goes all the way to the Final Boss. Hilarious Ending
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD7FZenj ... e=youtu.be

My Let's Play: I didn't want to review my own mod, but people wanted to see it, so I used it for the first half of my Turning the Tide Review.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DibJkA7fCC0

Downloads:
V1.4: https://www.mediafire.com/?gkg244u5qmqguo2

Changes:
V1: Basic Mod
V1.2: Added Engi Medi-bot Dispersal and upgraded med-bay to level 2.
V1.3: Used Jonfon's 32 bit image file to fix the "Black Box of Doom".
Now replaces Kestrel Type B instead of Fed Cruiser to allow for the purchasing of cloak.
V1.4: Made the old "Nukes" more FTL lore Friendly
Black Box should be fixed for everyone now.
Last edited by Ginger Dragon on Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:45 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Check out my youtube channel. I do FTL mod playthroughs, as well as all kinds of other assorted games.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GingerDragon87?feature=mhee
User avatar
BrenTenkage
Posts: 1147
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: On my Chair LPing mods

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby BrenTenkage » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:40 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD7FZenj ... e=youtu.be

This was fun to play with, btw this has the oddest ending of any FTL lets play, seriously you will never see it coming
I make a lot of lets plays of FTL, I also use mods I find on this site http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... 06hca_PXuX
I am also a modder as well, here is my mod hub viewtopic.php?f=11&t=32269
Bubbacubba
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Bubbacubba » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:54 pm

Nice ship, but I hate playing with less hull, the game is already hard as is.
My dad said I should waste my time playing video games and watching firefly over and over again
VanguardOfValor
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:24 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby VanguardOfValor » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:45 pm

For whatever reason, I only see a black square instead of the ship model, with the rooms overlaid on top. I'd love to try the ship out, but it's disappointing to not be able to see the ship.

Also, that's even with all other mods that I usually use turned off.
Various Valorous Videos, should you be interested...
Ginger Dragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:26 pm

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Ginger Dragon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:17 am

Bubbacubba wrote:Nice ship, but I hate playing with less hull, the game is already hard as is.


The point of the lower amounts of hull is to counteract the incredibly powerful Crusader Beam. If more people tell me its too low though, I increase it to 25 health.
Check out my youtube channel. I do FTL mod playthroughs, as well as all kinds of other assorted games.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GingerDragon87?feature=mhee
Ginger Dragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:26 pm

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Ginger Dragon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:26 am

VanguardOfValor wrote:For whatever reason, I only see a black square instead of the ship model, with the rooms overlaid on top. I'd love to try the ship out, but it's disappointing to not be able to see the ship.

Also, that's even with all other mods that I usually use turned off.


So far you're the only one with this problem, are you installing it through some different way? If not, check the mod file itself and make sure the image names are "flagship_prototype" Then check the blueprints.xml.append and see if on the top line of the ship's data (not the weapons) it says "img=flagship_prototype"

Also, you may want to make sure you have V1.2 downloaded and installed. I made a small change to the ship to compensate for the one room medbay glitch that I'm having trouble fixing.
Check out my youtube channel. I do FTL mod playthroughs, as well as all kinds of other assorted games.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GingerDragon87?feature=mhee
VanguardOfValor
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:24 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby VanguardOfValor » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:22 am

Ginger Dragon wrote:So far you're the only one with this problem, are you installing it through some different way? If not, check the mod file itself and make sure the image names are "flagship_prototype" Then check the blueprints.xml.append and see if on the top line of the ship's data (not the weapons) it says "img=flagship_prototype"

Also, you may want to make sure you have V1.2 downloaded and installed. I made a small change to the ship to compensate for the one room medbay glitch that I'm having trouble fixing.


I took another look at the files and as far as I can tell, everything seems to reference the right things. I tried to use the V1.2 link a few times, however, and every time the file I got was just marked V1. Not sure if that was intentional.
Various Valorous Videos, should you be interested...
Ginger Dragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:26 pm

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Ginger Dragon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:48 am

VanguardOfValor wrote:
Ginger Dragon wrote:So far you're the only one with this problem, are you installing it through some different way? If not, check the mod file itself and make sure the image names are "flagship_prototype" Then check the blueprints.xml.append and see if on the top line of the ship's data (not the weapons) it says "img=flagship_prototype"

Also, you may want to make sure you have V1.2 downloaded and installed. I made a small change to the ship to compensate for the one room medbay glitch that I'm having trouble fixing.


I took another look at the files and as far as I can tell, everything seems to reference the right things. I tried to use the V1.2 link a few times, however, and every time the file I got was just marked V1. Not sure if that was intentional.


Oops. I flubbed up the download link... MY BAD!! Sorry about that, I downloaded from the now working V1.2 link, and installed it using GMM. Everything's in working order, so try it again. If it fails again... Then PM me some screenshots of the images and xml.append files.
Check out my youtube channel. I do FTL mod playthroughs, as well as all kinds of other assorted games.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GingerDragon87?feature=mhee
User avatar
BrenTenkage
Posts: 1147
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: On my Chair LPing mods

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby BrenTenkage » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:55 am

hey I downloaded the 1.2 version and there are no medi bots, instead Advance, Navigation, not something I would want
I make a lot of lets plays of FTL, I also use mods I find on this site http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL ... 06hca_PXuX
I am also a modder as well, here is my mod hub viewtopic.php?f=11&t=32269
Ginger Dragon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:26 pm

Re: [MOD] Rebel Flagship Prototype

Postby Ginger Dragon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:16 am

BrenTenkage wrote:hey I downloaded the 1.2 version and there are no medi bots, instead Advance, Navigation, not something I would want

Yeah, the download link was messed up for quite a while, it should be fixed now. Sorry.
Check out my youtube channel. I do FTL mod playthroughs, as well as all kinds of other assorted games.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GingerDragon87?feature=mhee

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests