mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Discuss problems related to FTL here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.
Phantomx999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:26 am

mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Postby Phantomx999 » Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:33 am

ok i got the game on steam and looked like fun. well i went to options to make it full screen and now it's blown up so much that i can't see the hole main menu. also now my mouse is stuck in the top right corner and won't move from that corner while the game is running. i've tried to delete the game and reinstall but it changed nothing.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Postby Matthew » Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:10 am

What OS are you on?

FTL has a minimum resolution requirement of 1280x720 (as listed in the system specs), does your computer support that?

To get back into windowed mode:

If you're in windows, navigate to the FTL installation directory ( (SteamInstall)/steamapps/common/FTL Faster Than Light ) and delete "settings.ini"

If you're on Mac OS X, go to ~/Library/Application Support/FasterThanLight and delete "settings.ini"
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Phantomx999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:26 am

Re: mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Postby Phantomx999 » Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:47 pm

ok my OS is Vista, and max screen size is 1280x1024. deleting the setting file in steam helped bringing it out of the full screen and my mouse moves now. but now it's still so big windowed that i can't see the hole game... great.... i've tried adding "screen_x=1280 screen_y=1024" to the setting file. that didn't help.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Postby Matthew » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:10 pm

Did you try Fullscreen - Stretched or Fullscreen - Black Borders? For the settings.ini solution to work you must have been on "Stretched." Black borders is a more reliable choice if you're having issues with resolution and it should be fine on your monitor.

I'm sorry about this. We're working on the resolution issues. I'd be happy to refund your money because of the inconvenience if you purchased it from our website, but you'll have to contact Steam or GOG.com if you bought it from there and want a refund.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Phantomx999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:26 am

Re: mouse stuck in top corner and resolution problems

Postby Phantomx999 » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:44 am

well i don't want a refund cause i did get it on sale in steam and it is a good game from what i see. i'll try both screen settings and see how that does. if not i'll just wait for the update to patch the resolution problems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests