High CPU Use

Discuss problems related to FTL here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.
rc23
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:20 am

High CPU Use

Postby rc23 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:26 am

Just starting FTL puts one of my cores at 95% use. The game menu puts my cpu temp equal to a first person shooter. Just what is FTL doing to burn up so much CPU time ?
alisonwaller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:42 am

Re: High CPU Use

Postby alisonwaller » Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:48 am

This problem has been discussed on the getsatisfaction website.

https://getsatisfaction.com/ftlgame/topics/too_much_cpu_usage

You might find some help there to reduce CPU usage?

If you're using Windows, forcing V-Sync on will force your framerate down. You can do that within the Catalyst Control Panel / NVIDIA Control Panel / Intel Control Panel depending on your system.
voji
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:17 pm

Re: High CPU Use

Postby voji » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:06 pm

I limited FTL cpu usage with BES (Battle Encoder Shirase) to 20%, and game works, and cpu usage reduced.
More info here: http://www.synctocloud.net/?p=711

(if you doesn't want to configure and start/stop bes for every game, try out synctocloud app).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests