Full Screen

Discuss problems related to FTL here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.
Vertical Online
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Vertical Online » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:30 pm

settings.ini is not there either i uploaded a screenshot of my folder contents.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:38 pm

Ok. I'm going to have to email GOG! Something is screwy with them :) In the meantime, create a settings.ini file right in the root and add the following lines:

fullscreen=0
music=100
sound=100
altpause=1
dialog_keys=1
lowend=0
logging=1
ach_pop=1

Then fullscreen 0 is windowed, 1 is stretched, and 2 is black borders. That should get you going!
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Vertical Online
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Vertical Online » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:41 pm

Thanks, that worked perfectly.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:45 pm

Great! You might be having write issues in that folder. If your option settings aren't saving (like the sound volume), you'll have to manually modify them in that file. Hope it's not too much trouble.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
django
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Full Screen

Postby django » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:42 pm

Is stretch not supposed to fill the entire monitor? Its ok, but Im just wondering since there are so many stream videos where it seems to be the whole screen space. For me its borders top and bottom, and the borders fullscreen options makes it a (big) stamp in the middle of the monitor. I use a 1080p monitor, wish I could fill the entire screen space.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:44 pm

Just to be clear: You did not edit the settings.ini file, and you chose "Stretched - Fullscreen" on a 1080 monitor, and you get black borders? Can you take a screenshot please?
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
django
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Full Screen

Postby django » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:32 pm

This has been solved. I noticed that screenshots (taken using Steam) actually showed it as fullscreen. So I started looking into settings in Nvidia Control Panel and changed the scaling setting from "no scaling", to "full-screen".

This is using 306.23 WHQL driver, in case someone else run into the same problem.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:34 pm

Awesome! Thank you for taking the time to come back and post the solution :)
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
django
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Full Screen

Postby django » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Hehe, sure no problem.

A small side effect of this is however that this will resize and center the Steam window upon exiting the game. Unfortunately editing the settings.ini to read screen_x1920 / screen_y=1080 does not help with this.
keyzcz
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: Full Screen

Postby keyzcz » Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:30 pm

Why if i am using both "full screen" options i have black bars on my screen?

I have LCD 1280x1024 5:4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests