Full Screen

Discuss problems related to FTL here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.
mwebi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:33 am

Full Screen

Postby mwebi » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:35 am

Hey,

how do I make the game full screen?
I didn't find anything in the options.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:42 am

Hello!

If you click on Options from the main menu, the first option is "1. Fullscreen (Requires Restart): off." Click that to toggle it to the fullscreen mode you want (I recommend Black Borders), then close FTL and start it again. You should start in fullscreen :)
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
mwebi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:33 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby mwebi » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:44 am

Holy crap, yeah I must have been really blind about that.
Vertical Online
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Vertical Online » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:00 pm

I'm having a problem getting into full screen, when I set the options to full screen stretched or bordered and restart, it just reverts back to windowed.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:03 pm

Do you get an error message when it restarts? If it forces you back to windowed it should tell you why.

What resolutions does your computer support?
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Vertical Online
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Vertical Online » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:08 pm

Thank for the quick reply. I get no error message at all, it just reverts back to windowed like I never set it to full screen. My computer supports up to 1080p.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:10 pm

Start the game when it should start in Fullscreen, then closed it after it starts. Then in your FTL installation folder, there should be a file "stdout.txt." Can you post its contents here?

If you're using the Steam install, then it will be in [Steam Installation]/steamapps/common/FTL Faster Than Light
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
Vertical Online
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:54 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Vertical Online » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:15 pm

stdout.txt does not exist in my installation folder, could that be my problem? I bought it of gog if that helps.
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Does your settings.ini file have the line: logging=1 ?

Also, you could try running the game in fullscreen stretched mode, but also add the following lines to settings.ini:

screen_x=1920
screen_y=1080

Assuming 1920x1080 is indeed your resolution. That might start it up as fullscreen with black borders.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here
User avatar
Matthew
Site Admin
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Full Screen

Postby Matthew » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Sorry, settings.ini should be in the installation folder.
Matthew Davis, Subset Games Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster emailing directly, contact info here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests