Page 120 of 127

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:21 am
by meklozz
RAD-82 wrote:
meklozz wrote:Also it seems like only one 'room' is available unfortunately, adding this system only works once.

It seems that 'room' is just a name for a dummy system, so I made three dummy systems: roomleft, roommid, roomright.

I've updated the test file. I added a 6th artillery (2nd beam to receive artillery upgrades) to the beam room. I adjusted the size of two weapon rooms so the new artillery can fit four Zoltans. I hope these dummy systems don't cause any problems, since crashes were mentioned before. I placed them before the artillery, but it looks like you said it should go before any systems, which would mean first, unless you just meant any systems it would share the room with. I can't exactly do that with three systems needing that first slot, so I wouldn't be surprised if this fails and I have to try again.

Only exactly 'room' does anything at all, sorry.

@edit
This is the best I've got right now: https://imgur.com/a/flwGr It uses the artillery duplicate image on the two rooms (I got rid of the chm3, that was confusing, were you trying to fool FTL by adding the empty image?), but adds onto the first one by adding the 'room', which is still black inside unless you have any ideas there. Here:

Code: Select all

<shipBlueprint name="PLAYER_SHIP_FED" layout="chimera" img="chimera">
   <class>Federation Cruiser</class>
   <name>The Chimera</name>
   <unlock>There have been rumors of advanced ship construction in the Rebel Stronghold...</unlock>
   <desc>The Chimera artillery system is complex, but can be very deadly.</desc>
   <systemList>
        <room room="13" img="room_artillery_chm1"/>
      <pilot power="1" room="6" start="true" img="room_pilot_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </pilot>
      <doors power="1" room="15" start="true" img="room_doors_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </doors>
      <sensors power="1" room="1" start="true" img="room_sensors_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </sensors>
      <oxygen power="1" room="9" start="true" img="room_oxygen_chm"/>
      <shields power="1" room="8" start="true" img="room_shields_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </shields>
      <engines power="2" room="4" start="true" img="room_engines_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>down</direction>
            <number>3</number>
         </slot>
      </engines>
      <weapons power="2" room="12" start="true" img="room_weapons_chm">
         <slot>
            <direction>right</direction>
            <number>1</number>
         </slot>
      </weapons>
      <drones power="2" room="18" start="false" img="room_drones_chm"/>
      <medbay power="1" room="10" start="true" img="room_medbay_chm">
         <slot>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </medbay>
      <clonebay power="1" room="10" start="false">
         <slot>
            <number>0</number>
         </slot>
      </clonebay>
      <teleporter power="1" room="7" start="false"/>
      <cloaking power="1" room="0" start="false" img="room_cloaking_chm"/>
      <battery power="2" room="11" start="true" img="room_battery_chm"/>
      <mind power="1" room="14" start="false" img="room_mind_chm"/>
      <hacking power="1" room="5" start="false" img="room_hacking_chm"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="13" start="true" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_BEAM"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="3" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_ION"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="3" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_LASER"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="17" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_LASER"/>
      <artillery power="2" room="17" start="true" img="room_artillery_chm2" weapon="CHM_ARTILLERY_ION"/>
   </systemList>
   <weaponSlots>2</weaponSlots>
   <droneSlots>3</droneSlots>
   <weaponList count="2" missiles="3">
      <weapon name="CHM_BOMB_HEAL_SYSTEM_MINOR"/>
      <weapon name="CHM_BOMB_HEAL_CREW_MINOR"/>
   </weaponList>
   <droneList count="0" drones="2">
   </droneList>
   <health amount="30"/>
   <maxPower amount ="3"/>
   <crewCount amount = "2" class="human"/>
   <crewCount amount = "2" class="energy"/>
   <aug name="ENERGY_SHIELD"/>
   <shieldImage>fed_cruiser</shieldImage>
   <cloakImage>fed_cruiser</cloakImage>
</shipBlueprint>


I guess if you went with the 4 tile room and then changed the images (maybe only use the top computers) you could probably hide the surplus there.. If you want to go for something like that.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:24 pm
by RAD-82
I finally went and installed Java, so I can do my own testing now. This reliance on others for such complex issues was just bothering me too much.

meklozz wrote:were you trying to fool FTL by adding the empty image?

FTL adds a slight transparency to the room images. Since I was stacking systems, I was trying to prevent the artillery rooms from having a more solid look by not stacking a 2nd image. I clearly failed, since each artillery img is overridden by the final artillery system. I've got an idea what I'll do now.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:21 pm
by EarlRatliff1
I really appreciate this forum's resources: thanks to them, I managed to learn to create two weapons that're modified forms of starting weapons.

I'd like to ask: is there a way to create a weapon that defies some of the hardcoded behaviors in the game? For example, is it possible to create a beam that can miss, or a beam that strips a layer or two of shielding yet can't ever deal more than 1 hull damage per room hit?

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:16 pm
by Official_KP
When creating ships from the games ship gibs and parts and stuff do I use the ones with glow or no glow?

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:43 pm
by Arfy
Official_KP wrote:When creating ships from the games ship gibs and parts and stuff do I use the ones with glow or no glow?


(Most of this is assuming you use GIMP) You should use the ones with no glow, but you can use the magic wand tool for other gibs (such as the Kestrel's gibs)

But if you want to add a glow to your finished ship, I'd recommend you add a drop shadow (It's underneath Filters --> Light and Shadow);
Offset X and Y: 0
Blur radius: ~6-15
Color: Any pinkish color
---

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:05 pm
by Official_KP
Arfy wrote:
Official_KP wrote:When creating ships from the games ship gibs and parts and stuff do I use the ones with glow or no glow?


(Most of this is assuming you use GIMP) You should use the ones with no glow, but you can use the magic wand tool for other gibs (such as the Kestrel's gibs)

But if you want to add a glow to your finished ship, I'd recommend you add a drop shadow (It's underneath Filters --> Light and Shadow);
Offset X and Y: 0
Blur radius: ~6-15
Color: Any pinkish color
---

Thanks! :D

Convert .ttf file to .font file

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:29 pm
by reinvert
Hi. I'm converting korean mod of FTL, and it's almost done.
but I can't convert .ttf file to .font file that display korean fonts.
Is there any tools to convert to .font file?

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:29 pm
by bamalf
Nope. Also we are waiting for the support of Russian fonts. :(

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:44 pm
by Vhati
reinvert wrote:Hi. I'm converting korean mod of FTL, and it's almost done.
but I can't convert .ttf file to .font file that display korean fonts.
Is there any tools to convert to .font file?

bamalf wrote:Nope. Also we are waiting for the support of Russian fonts. :(


From the FTL changelog...
1.6.4:
- Fixed font rendering issues for ttf files (only [affects] mods)

1.6.3:
- Fonts update: Modders should now be able to use *.ttf fonts without any troubles
- - Update: This is apparently still not 100%. We’re working on it.

Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:12 am
by mr_easy_money
Vhati wrote:From the FTL changelog...
1.6.4:
- Fixed font rendering issues for ttf files (only [affects] mods)

1.6.3:
- Fonts update: Modders should now be able to use *.ttf fonts without any troubles
- - Update: This is apparently still not 100%. We’re working on it.

I think the only ttf file that seems to work is JustinFont8.ttf. None of the other fonts show up.