Questions here: an inquiry thread! [Updated Sep 15th, 2014]
- kartoFlane
- Posts: 1488
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
- NarnKar
- Posts: 778
- Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
kartoFlane wrote:No, by "2000px in size" I meant 2000x2000, not square pixels
Ah, sorry, my bad. I'm still new to this whole "being a sprite artist" thing...
- NarnKar
- Posts: 778
- Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
How do you get the thruster glows on your ship hulls?
- kartoFlane
- Posts: 1488
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
You can't, the engine thrusters are hardcoded to appear for the Kestrel and Federation ships :(
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:02 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
Hey,
I am new to this forum, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I would like to create a HUD mod and for that I would like to change the colour of the energy bars for the system power and the hull health, but I can't find the file I have to modify for that.
If anybody could help me that would be nice.
I am new to this forum, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I would like to create a HUD mod and for that I would like to change the colour of the energy bars for the system power and the hull health, but I can't find the file I have to modify for that.
If anybody could help me that would be nice.
- kartoFlane
- Posts: 1488
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
I'm afraid these can't be really changed -- if I recall correctly, the system power bars are drawn programmatically, without using an image resource. The health indicator can be given a different shape, but its coloration/tint is hardcoded as well :(
Either way, the health indicator mask is located at img/statusUI/top_hull_bar_mask.png in the unpacked archives.
Either way, the health indicator mask is located at img/statusUI/top_hull_bar_mask.png in the unpacked archives.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:02 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply.
I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work.
Mask:
Ingame:
thanks for your reply.
I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work.
Mask:
Ingame:
-
- Posts: 532
- Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 8:06 am
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
Konz wrote:Hey kartoFlane,
thanks for your reply.
I was able to get a different colour by changing the mask colour, I will see if that will work.
Mask:
Ingame:
Yes, this would account for the fact that something someone made a while back (custom hull bars or something) was yellow instead of green.
- NarnKar
- Posts: 778
- Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:24 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
I tried making a freeze-ray weapon, by putting lockdown on the beam. But when I tested it, it only did standard damage, without doing any lockdowns...
Is there anything wrong with my code, or is putting lockdown on beams impossible?
Here's my code, for reference's sake.
animations.xml.append
blueprints.xml.append
Is there anything wrong with my code, or is putting lockdown on beams impossible?
Here's my code, for reference's sake.
animations.xml.append
Code: Select all
<animSheet name="FREEZERAY" w="264" h="140" fw="33" fh="140">weapons/freezeray_strip8.png</animSheet>
<weaponAnim name="FREEZERAY">
<sheet>FREEZERAY</sheet>
<desc length="8" x="0" y="0" />
<chargedFrame>5</chargedFrame>
<fireFrame>6</fireFrame>
<firePoint x="16" y="48" />
<mountPoint x="4" y="111" />
<chargeImage>weapons/freezeray_glow.png</chargeImage>
</weaponAnim>
blueprints.xml.append
Code: Select all
<weaponBlueprint name="FREEZERAY">
<type>BEAM</type>
<tip>tip_beams</tip>
<title>Freeze Ray</title>
<short>Freeze Ray</short>
<desc>A freeze ray that can lock down entire ships. Water shorts out systems, but does no hull damage. Pierces all shields, including Zoltan shields.</desc>
<tooltip>Lockdown beam.</tooltip>
<damage>0</damage>
<sysDamage>1</sysDamage>
<sp>5</sp>
<fireChance>0</fireChance>
<breachChance>0</breachChance>
<lockdown>1</lockdown>
<speed>13</speed>
<cooldown>16</cooldown>
<color>
<r>176</r>
<g>224</g>
<b>230</b>
</color>
<power>3</power>
<cost>100</cost>
<bp>5</bp>
<rarity>0</rarity>
<image>beam_contact</image>
<length>170</length>
<launchSounds>
<sound>beam1</sound>
<sound>beam1_2</sound>
</launchSounds>
<weaponArt>FREEZERAY</weaponArt>
<iconImage>beam</iconImage>
</weaponBlueprint>
- kartoFlane
- Posts: 1488
- Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20 pm
Re: Questions here: an inquiry thread!
Generally beams seem to be handled differently than other weapons (or they're simply not coded to apply a modifier, like lockdown). So I guess you've just hit one of those hardcoded walls here.
Your code seems fine, though you could verify whether this works by just slapping the <lockdown> tag on a minibeam and trying it out *shrug*
But I'm fairly certain that lockdown just doesn't work on beams, similarily how negative crew damage doesn't.
Your code seems fine, though you could verify whether this works by just slapping the <lockdown> tag on a minibeam and trying it out *shrug*
But I'm fairly certain that lockdown just doesn't work on beams, similarily how negative crew damage doesn't.
Superluminal2 - a ship editor for FTL