[SHIP] Federation Defender

Distribute and discuss mods that are functional. Moderator - Grognak
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby R4V3-0N » Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:37 am

stylesrj wrote:
R4V3-0N wrote:
stylesrj wrote:Oh wow, shieldless ships with the ellipse in a tiny place. I've seen this before. It's rather interesting how all drones are neutralised, yet defensive drones are still an option.

I once made a ship like that as well. Gave it a Zoltan Shield and suddenly it couldn't be Hacked or Mind Controlled or boarded (outside of events). Since there was no shield bubble, the Zoltan Shield could never be brought down.


I attempted to do this. It yelded no fruit.

boarders still boarded me.
ion boarder and normal boarder drones still went for it.

Is this due to 1x1 pixel shields being to small for it and me requiring to get a bit bigger shield would fix it or is this some other problem?


That's odd. Maybe it only works if the ellipse is 0 all around? Because the size of the Zoltan shield shouldn't matter. The Zoltan shield theoretically should stop anything from the AI.

I haven't tried it in a long while though so perhaps it has been fixed.

If it was done before AE then that is probably the case.

If 1x1 doesn't work I somehow doubt 0x0 would.
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby stylesrj » Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:53 am

R4V3-0N wrote:If it was done before AE then that is probably the case.

If 1x1 doesn't work I somehow doubt 0x0 would.


This was done after AE. The ship I designed started with a Clone Bay and I had little clue as to how ellipses worked.
Maybe the Zoltan shield thing was fixed after that update with the Mind Control so that it can be used on your own ship even if the enemy has their shields up. That one also fixed my strategy of turning Mind Control off to avoid it being hacked and used against you.

Have you tried 0x0 to make sure?
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby R4V3-0N » Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:11 am

stylesrj wrote:
R4V3-0N wrote:If it was done before AE then that is probably the case.

If 1x1 doesn't work I somehow doubt 0x0 would.


This was done after AE. The ship I designed started with a Clone Bay and I had little clue as to how ellipses worked.
Maybe the Zoltan shield thing was fixed after that update with the Mind Control so that it can be used on your own ship even if the enemy has their shields up. That one also fixed my strategy of turning Mind Control off to avoid it being hacked and used against you.

Have you tried 0x0 to make sure?


I haven't tried it but I am going to try out an 8x8 soon.
The problem with the 1x1 is it doesn't have any evidence I have a zoltan shield BESIDES the fact I got an augment saying i do. No zoltan shield 'bars' or bubbles in UI shown either.
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby stylesrj » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:51 am

I haven't tried it but I am going to try out an 8x8 soon.
The problem with the 1x1 is it doesn't have any evidence I have a zoltan shield BESIDES the fact I got an augment saying i do. No zoltan shield 'bars' or bubbles in UI shown either.


Weird. Do events still say "They must have a Zoltan Shield Bypass!"

And will an 8x8 stop drones from attacking the ship or just make it worse as they quickly zip around, launching everywhere?
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby R4V3-0N » Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:04 am

stylesrj wrote:
I haven't tried it but I am going to try out an 8x8 soon.
The problem with the 1x1 is it doesn't have any evidence I have a zoltan shield BESIDES the fact I got an augment saying i do. No zoltan shield 'bars' or bubbles in UI shown either.


Weird. Do events still say "They must have a Zoltan Shield Bypass!"

And will an 8x8 stop drones from attacking the ship or just make it worse as they quickly zip around, launching everywhere?


Well I will test the 8x8 ship soon, had to take a break. The events do not even mention a Zoltan Shield Bypass either.

I think the size of the shield doesn't matter for drones attack speed but if it does then I can't think how the 8x8 will be to bad, because I think drones can only attack things "inside" the shield, and on my ship there is no room in reach. So it has nothing to attack unless it shoots a room outside of the shield while facing inside. I hope the fact that 8x8 is smaller then the drone itself it will make it fail.
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby stylesrj » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:17 am

R4V3-0N wrote:
Well I will test the 8x8 ship soon, had to take a break. The events do not even mention a Zoltan Shield Bypass either.

I think the size of the shield doesn't matter for drones attack speed but if it does then I can't think how the 8x8 will be to bad, because I think drones can only attack things "inside" the shield, and on my ship there is no room in reach. So it has nothing to attack unless it shoots a room outside of the shield while facing inside. I hope the fact that 8x8 is smaller then the drone itself it will make it fail.


DryEagle's Escort Duty would beg to differ on that matter. Drones will attack any tile on the ship. The ellipse will determine where they can end up. Drones fire one shot every time they stop, so if the ellipse is tiny, they'll be firing a lot of shots.

Ever noticed in some ships when you have an attack drone Mk.I that it fires rather quickly at some points? That's because it flies to one of the narrow ends, fires, then glides to the one below and fires again.
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby stylesrj » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:41 am

I FIGURED IT OUT!

You need to have a shield system on the ship. Or at least make the shield system available. You can't leave them out entirely. Because I just made a ellipseless (and then tried 6x6) ship with a shield system and Zoltan shield... BAM! Green bars!
Remove the Shield System entirely (so if you purchase it, you waste 125 scrap as it doesn't get installed) and BAM! No green bars.
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby R4V3-0N » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:56 am

stylesrj wrote:I FIGURED IT OUT!

You need to have a shield system on the ship. Or at least make the shield system available. You can't leave them out entirely. Because I just made a ellipseless (and then tried 6x6) ship with a shield system and Zoltan shield... BAM! Green bars!
Remove the Shield System entirely (so if you purchase it, you waste 125 scrap as it doesn't get installed) and BAM! No green bars.


Ah, so I need the shield system 'obtainable'. So I have to make like a false Shield room for the shield system to work? (say, make it off the screen where no enemy can hit it?)

Will this still be damaged via events and stuff? I thought this will be a problem but at worst it will be just 1 damage and nothing else as it won't even be obtanable ... (unless players ignore my list of possible systems to get. But they will be punished by it being starting at 1 energy bar and it being unrepearable :twisted: )
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.
User avatar
stylesrj
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:54 am
Location: The Shrike
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby stylesrj » Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:57 am

Ah, so I need the shield system 'obtainable'. So I have to make like a false Shield room for the shield system to work? (say, make it off the screen where no enemy can hit it?)


Or stack it with another system. Looks weird, but chances are it won't get repaired if that room is hit :twisted:

Will this still be damaged via events and stuff? I thought this will be a problem but at worst it will be just 1 damage and nothing else as it won't even be obtanable ... (unless players ignore my list of possible systems to get. But they will be punished by it being starting at 1 energy bar and it being unrepearable :twisted: )


Probably. But you don't have to buy one and use that extra system slot for something else :)
Just as long as shields exist for the ship, it'll have a Zoltan Shield.
User avatar
R4V3-0N
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Last Federation Fleet
Contact:

Re: [SHIP] Federation Defender

Postby R4V3-0N » Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:04 pm

stylesrj wrote:
Ah, so I need the shield system 'obtainable'. So I have to make like a false Shield room for the shield system to work? (say, make it off the screen where no enemy can hit it?)


Or stack it with another system. Looks weird, but chances are it won't get repaired if that room is hit :twisted:

Will this still be damaged via events and stuff? I thought this will be a problem but at worst it will be just 1 damage and nothing else as it won't even be obtanable ... (unless players ignore my list of possible systems to get. But they will be punished by it being starting at 1 energy bar and it being unrepearable :twisted: )


Probably. But you don't have to buy one and use that extra system slot for something else :)
Just as long as shields exist for the ship, it'll have a Zoltan Shield.



Oh, so if you assign 2 systems to the same room and own both, it stacks?... if I say have a zoltan in a room with say engines and shields stacked, it gets 1 power to both systems or?....
(Also how does repairing work on those extra systems?)
R4V3-0N, a dreamer.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests